The draw for the 2012/13 Heineken Junior Cup was made on Monday night in Petie Joes bar, Westport.

Over 50 representatives from clubs across the province attended the event with a great turnout of players and officials from host club Westport RFC.

Secretary of the Competitions Committee Robert Lahiff played MC for the night and introduced President of the Connacht Branch, Aidan O’Halloran, President of Westport RFC, Pat McCormack and Regional Manager for Heineken Ireland, Jim Glynn who spoke before the draw.

Following on from last season’s popular format all eight Junior 1A teams received a bye into Round 2, with the 14 clubs from Junior 1B and Junior 1C competing in Round 1.

Last seasons winners Galwegians were drawn away to Tuam RFC while beaten finalists Loughrea welcome Junior 1C side Gort to Ballygasty in Round 2.

Round 1 kicks off on the 6th January with Round 2 the following Sunday and teams that are beaten in the first two rounds will compete for the Junior Plate.

Heineken’s sponsorship of the Junior Cup spans over a decade and Jim Glynn spoke of how proud Heineken were to continue the link with the club game across the province and Aidan O’Halloran thanked Westport for hosting the draw and Heineken for their valued and continued sponsorship of Connachts premier cup competition.

The draw can be found here:


Connacht Emerging Talent squad named for game against Leinster North Midlands