For the first time since 2016 Connacht Rugby are back in the Heineken Champions Cup, and by this time tomorrow we’ll know our pool opponents for the 2019/20 tournament.

Andy Friend’s squad qualified for Europe’s premier competition after reaching the playoffs of last season’s Guinness PRO14, thereby earning a spot in the Heineken Champions Cup.

The draw takes place tomorrow, so here’s all you need to know.
When’s the draw?
It takes place tomorrow Wednesday June 19th at 1pm Irish time in Lausanne, Switzerland.
Who qualified for the tournament?
Here are the 20 teams who will enter the Champions Cup in order of their rankings based on their finishing position in their respective Championships.

Gallagher Premiership Guinness PRO14 Top 14
Saracens Leinster Toulouse
Exeter Chiefs Glasgow Warriors ASM Clermont Auvergne
Gloucester Munster Lyon
Northampton Saints Ulster La Rochelle
Harlequins Connacht Racing 92
Bath Benetton Montpellier
Sale Sharks Ospreys

Who could Connacht face?
The crucial info to remember tomorrow is Connacht will be included as a Tier 3 side, meaning we will be placed in a pot featuring teams from Tiers 1, 2 and 4.
Tier 1 is guaranteed to feature Saracens, Leinster and Toulouse, as well as two of Exeter Chiefs, Glasgow Warriors and Clermont. A preliminary draw will take place to determine which two teams will become Tier 1 sides.

Tier 2 will include the three third-ranked clubs from the leagues – Gloucester, Munster and Lyon – as well as the second-ranked club which was not drawn into Tier 1 and the fourth-ranked club from the same league as the club which was not drawn into Tier 1.

Tier 4 is complete and contains the sixth-ranked clubs from each league – Bath Rugby, Benetton Rugby and Montpellier – as well as Sale Sharks and the Ospreys.
It’s important to remember no pool can contain two PRO14 clubs from the same country, so Connacht cannot be drawn against Leinster, Munster or Ulster. We also cannot be drawn against Glasgow Warriors as teams from the same league will be kept apart until the Tier 4 allocation. That means Connacht’s potential opponents are reduced to the following:
Tier 1: Saracens, Toulouse, Exeter Chiefs, ASM Clermont Auvergne.

Tier 2: Exeter Chiefs, ASM Clermont Auvergne, Gloucester, Lyon, La Rochelle, Northampton Saints.

Tier 4: Bath, Benetton, Montpellier, Sale Sharks, Ospreys.
When are the games?
Round 1: 15/16/17 November 2019
Round 2: 22/23/24 November 2019
Round 3: 6/7/8 December 2019
Round 4: 13/14/15 December 2019
Round 5: 10/11/12 January 2020
Round 6: 17/18/19 January 2020
Quarter-finals: 3/4/5 April 2020
Semi-finals: 1/2/3 May 2020
Final: 23 May 2020
How can I follow the draw?
The draw will be streamed live on tomorrow from 1pm while you can also follow it on the Connacht Rugby Twitter account.
Can I buy tickets now?
Yes you can, with a Season Ticket Membership. This is the only way to guarantee your spot at every home pool game in the Heineken Champions Cup, as well as the regular season home games in the Guinness PRO14 (include all three interpros).


One change to Connacht team for Aviva Stadium clash with Leinster