Four Connacht players will earn representative honours tomorrow as Ireland U18 take on Portugal U18 in Lisbon (Estádio Nacional, Jamor, Lisbon, kick-off 5pm).

U18 Clubs Interprovincial Series, The Sportsground, Galway 17/9/2016 Connacht vs Munster Munster’s Tom Hanley and Hugh Lane of Connacht Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/James Crombie

Munster’s Tom Hanley and Hugh Lane of Connacht
©INPHO/James Crombie

Cian Huxford (Corinthians RFC & Calasanctius College), Niall Murray (Buccaneers RFC & St Aloysius College) and Hugh Lane (Galwegians RFC & Presentation College Athenry) have all been selected to start whilst Danny Arnold (Creggs RFC & Roscommon Community College) will look to make an impact from the bench.

All four players were involved in Connacht’s U18 Interprovincial Series this season and speaking about their selection for the National team, Domestic Rugby Manager Eric Elwood said:

“We’re delighted for the guys to be called up, it’s great recognition for the hard work they have put in over the Summer months and through the Interpro Series with coaches Colm Tucker and Lyndon Jones and is a huge honour for them to represent Ireland. It is testament to the dedication of the coaches in their clubs and schools to get them to this stage and the future is very bright for these young Connacht stars.”

Ireland U18 Team to face Portugal:

15.Conor Hayes (Young Munster RFC/Munster)
14.Morgan Purcell (New Ross RFC/Leinster)
13. Kieran Dunne (Sale Sharks Academy/Exiles)
12. Evan O’Gorman (Young Munster RFC/Munster) (capt)
11. Hugh Lane (Galwegians RFC/Connacht)
10. Harry Byrne (Garryowen FC/Munster)
9. Garrett Fitzgerald (Tullow RFC/Leinster)
1. Jack Walters (London Irish Amateurs RFC/Exiles)
2. Patrick Nixon (Wicklow RFC/Leinster)
3. Jack McIntosh (Rainey Old Boys RFC/Ulster)
4. Niall Murray (Buccaneers RFC/Connacht)
5. Cameron Boon (Welwyn RFC/Exiles)

6.Cian Huxford (Corinthians RFC/Connacht) (vice-capt)
7.Conor Finch (Welwyn RFC/Exiles)
8. John Hodnett (Clonakilty RFC/Munster)


16. Harry Donnelly (Waterpark RFC/Munster)
17. Daniel Arnold (Creggs RFC/Connacht)
 Conan Dunne (Kilkenny RFC/Leinster)
19. Evan Murphy (Nenagh Ormond RFC/Munster)
20. Martin Moloney (Athy RFC/Leinster)
21. Caolan Englefield (Harlequins RFC/Exiles)
22. Iwan Hughes (Bristol Rugby Academy/Exiles)
23. Darragh Kelly (Suttonians RFC/Leinster)


Jordan Conroy named in Ireland Men’s 7s squad for Rugby Europe Sevens Grand Prix Series