Ballina 34 – 10 Ballinasloe

junior plate 350Ballina won the Heineken Junior Plate last Sunday at the Sportsground. This was the first year the Junior Plate and Cup have been held on the same day as a double header and Ballina earned their title with an impressive second half performance against a strong Ballinasloe team.

junior plate 1350Leading just 7-3 at the interval, but having played into the teeth of a gale for the first 40 minutes, Ballina turned the screw in the second half with a 5 try blitz from Conor Forde, Sam Johnston (2), Francis Conroy and Jerome Harimate whilst Ballinasloe responded with a pick ‘n go try of their own, converted by Keelan O’Neil to add to his earlier penalty.

Ballina: Conor Dever; Francis Conroy, Jerome Harrimate, Michael Allen, Kevin McCarron; Sam Johnson, Michael Murphy; Ciaran Melvin, Richard Kelly, Alex Lee; Conor Forde, Mark Joseph Healy; Orrie Collins, Phillip Timoney, Aiden McNulty.

Replacement: Rodney O’Donnell, Stpehen Dolan, Arthur West, Cory Brown, Conor Mason, Paul Newell, Daid Brunker, Tyrone De Silva.

Ballinasloe: Matt Tierney; Rory Doolan, David Freeman, Conor Johnston, Cian Loughrey; Keelan O’Neill, Conor Loughrey; John James Carey, Andy O’Hara, Tommy Dolan; Niall Staunton, Harry Reynolds; Rob Wakefield, Aidan, John Hayes.

Replacement: Kevin Gavin, Alan Wade, Mark Harrigan, Donal Fenton, Kevin Dolan, Aidan Loughrey, Robert Ahern, Dara Burke, Benny Brophy.

Pictures © Joe O’Shaughnessey ([email protected])



Energia All-Ireland League Round-Up: Buccaneers stay atop Division 1B, Sligo & Corinthians win