Cawley Cup Success for Ballina

Ballina RFC lifted the Cawley Cup last Sunday after they beat Westport RFC 49-22 in Crowley Park, Glenina.

2 350Westport started the better of the two sides and outhalf Lyndon Jones put Westport ahead with an early penalty. Playing with the gale-force wind in the first half Westport dominated the early exchanges and it wasn’t long before Niall O’Malley touched down, Jones slotting the difficult conversion to give Westport a ten point cushion. That’s when Ballina started to hit their stride and tries from Connor Dever (2) and Alex Lee (1) put Ballina into a 15-10 lead at half-time.

The second half saw further Ballina tries from Kevin McCarron, Tom Tolan and Jerome Harimate and though Westport managed tries through Danny O’Toole and Tom Dever it was too late, Ballina running out eventual winners 49-22

Ballina: C Dever, F Conroy, J Harrimate, M Allen, K McCarron, S Johnson, M Murphy, C Melvin, R Kelly, A Lee, C Forde, S Dolan, O Cllins, P Timoney, A McNulty.

Replacements: T Tolan, C Brown, P Newell, A Moynihan, A West.

Westport: E Joyce, D O’Toole, A McAleer, J O’Malley, N O’Malley, L Jones, P Hoban, A Bourke, J O’Connor, M Cronin, M Walsh, L Scahill, C Ryan, D Herrity, C Hastings.

Replacements: T Dever, D Carpenter, B O’Donnell, E Walsh and M Kennedy.

Picftured lifting the Cawley Cup – Ballina’s Michael Murphy (C) Corinne Beattie Photography


Connacht Emerging Talent squad named for game against Leinster North Midlands