Under14s Remain Unbeaten

Sligo Grammar is the latest among Connacht’s schoolboy rugby royalty to wear the CBS Roscommon backlash.

Roscommon’s Under14 outfit out-thought, outplayed and outdid Grammar’s youngsters 21-0; a comprehensive and no-longer-surprising result for the little-known rookies.

CBS Roscommon has made such a habit of upsetting the applecart this winter and it’s perhaps lucky the World Cup-winning All Blacks aren’t touring before this season’s out. They might well have travelled home light on silverware.

Following CBS Juniors’ victory over The Jes’ in the Supermacs Connacht Schools Junior Development Cup semi-final, the Under14s romped home at The Green, Creggs, East Galway to round out another great week. Having already set regional tongues wagging with their rugby in the rain, mild conditions and a dry fast pitch afforded CBS ample opportunity to really unwind. And having already established themselves as a breakdown authority, they upped their own distribution ante running Grammar ragged in open play.

CBS14s_640x259They remain unbeaten at this stage, and their fledgling rugby record remains perfectly intact.

Grammar defended typically well, no mean feat against CBS loosies Brian Diffley, Edward Clinton and James Brandon. Outhalf Michael Farrell marshalled the fliers well and freed midfielders Conor Shanaher and Adam Whyte half an hour in. Diffley grabbed the first try, early in the second quarter, Farrell added the extras from wide out.

CBS crossed the Grammar chalk again 50minutes in where Whyte benefited from solid forward grunt, scarpering in from 25m out. Farrell took his tally to four with the kick.

CBS left the foot on the throat and claimed a third in the final 10 minutes, Diffley and Farrell again combining for seven points.

(CBS: Dan Butt, Eoghan Coyle, Marco Morelli, James Fetherstone, Michael Feeley, James Brandon, Edward Clinton, Brian Diffley, James McNally, Michael Farrell, Conor McNeill, Sean Doorley, Adam Whyte, Brian Fallon, Conor Shanaher, Jack Harkins, Theo McGuinness, Oisin Lyons, Hayden O Reilly, Ian Conlon, Rian Biesty, Brandon Costello, Colm Mangan, Aaron Langan, Ben Cummins, Aaron Hegarty). (contributed – Dave Purcell)


The Jes reach last four with last minute winner