Top Oil Connacht Schools Junior Cup Final

CBS Roscommon 36 0 Colaiste Iognaid (The Jes) 

CBS Roscommon: Melvin Conteh 2 tries; Jason Hoare 2 tries Rian Biesty and James Brandon; Shane Purcell 3 cons.

It was a case of one year older and one year wiser for CBS Roscommon at the Sportsground on Wednesday as they produced domineering display in the Top Oil Connacht Schools Junior Cup decider becoming the first side ever from the county to win major schools trophy in the province.

CBS Junior Final1 500Having lost out to St Geralds of Castlebar in a thrilling final last season, CBS Roscommon showed the kind of composure and work rate normally associated with a schools rugby powerhouse during the contest. This was especially key in the first half as they kept a spirited Colaiste Iognaid at bay before grinding out two hard earned tries for a 12-0 half time lead.

The Jes started very well with Jake Gallagher, Jack Browne and Cathal McGuiness to the fore allied with some intelligent out half play from Diarmuid Codyre but the early attacks didn’t yield points and CBS Roscommon slowly began to gain the ascendancy as the half wore on, especially in the forward exchanges.

The first try for CBS Roscommon underlined the difference between the sides when it came to power around the fringes as second row Ria Biesty burst through three tackles on his way to a barnstorming opening score which Shane Purcell neatly converted.

The lead was extended to 12 by half time after tighthead prop Melvin Conteh took advantage of a small gap at the fringe of a ruck five metres out and got in for the second try despite the desperate effort of two defenders

The Jes needed to score first after half time but an injury to key man Codyre didn’t help in that regard. CBS weren’t easy to contain either and five minutes into the second half Conteh scored his side’s third try to stretch the lead to 17 after some hard work from the likes of Killian Higgins and Daire Byrne in the build up.

As the game drew to a close CBS Roscommon continued to shine with the excellent Jason Hoare – part of a strong centre partnership with Niall Cunniffe notching two tries and the superb James Brandon underling a great all round game with a try of his own to crown a resounding performance.

CBS Junior Final2 500Under the guidance of Dave Purcell, Aidan Farrell, Patrick O’Farrell and Noel Glavin, CBS Roscommon made history on Wednesday and might well have inspired emerging schools around the province for future campaigns.

CBS Roscommon: Tim Lambe; Ben McGahon, Niall Cunniffe, Jason Hoare, Cian Gately; Shane Purcell, Eoghan Coyle; Ian Conlon, Killian Higgins, Melvin Conteh; Patrick Fannon, Rian Biesty; John Martin, Daire Byrne, James Brandon;

Replacements: Cormac Miley for Higgins, Gavin Carberry for Fannon, both 46 mins; Dylan Horan Lambe 59 mins.

Colaiste Iognaid: Adam Cunningham; Jack GRealish, Conor Briscoe, Cillian McCabe, David Molloy; Diarmuid Codyre, Ruadhan Durkin; Gary Keane, Jake Gallagher, Adam Corbett; Aaron Mannion, Darragh Coen; Diorai O’Connor, Jack Browne, Cathal McGuinness.

Replacements: Ralph Solan for Codyre, 34 mins; Hugh Keavney for Browne, 36 mins; Patrick Smyth for McGuinness and Ciaran Anthony for Grealish both 53 mins; R O’Connor for D O’Connor, J Costello for Molloy and J Kennedy for Corbett. all 59 mins.

Referee: Mike Forrestal

Rian Biesty 900


Now accepting entries for the Girls & Boys schools leagues