Connacht beat Leinster at a sold out Sportsground in Galway tonight by 10 points to 9 and have won their opening three games in the campaign for the first time since 2002.

22-year-old scrum half Kieran Marmion marked his 59th consecutive game with a try 15 minutes into the second half, which out half Jack Carty converted to add to his first half penalty kick.

Leinster’s Ian Madigan kicked three successful penalty kicks from four attempts in the first half but Connacht’s solid defence held strong to keep the defending champions from crossing the line, despite numerous period of immense pressure.

CONNACHT: Darragh Leader; Niyi Adeolokun, Robbie Henshaw, David McSharry, Danie Poolman; Jack Carty, Kieran Marmion; Denis Buckley, David Heffernan, Nathan White, Aly Muldowney, Quinn Roux, John Muldoon (capt), Willie Faloon, Eoin McKeon. Replacements: George Naoupu for Faloon (32 mins), Fionn Carr for Adeolokun (half-time), Mick Kearney for Roux (49 mins), Rodney Ah You for White (65 mins), Ian Porter for Marmion, Craig Ronaldson for Leader (both 68 mins), Ronan Loughney for Buckley (79 mins).

LEINSTER: Rob Kearney; Fergus McFadden, Brendan Macken, Ian Madigan, Darragh Fanning; Jimmy Gopperth, Eoin Reddan; Jack McGrath, Sean Cronin, Mike Ross, Devin Toner, Mike McCarthy, Rhys Ruddock, Dominic Ryan, Jamie Heaslip (capt). Replacements: Cian Healy for McGrath (47 mins), Gordon D’Arcy for Macken (58 mins), Tadhg Furlong for Ross, Shane Jennings for Ryan (both 65 mins), Tom Denton for Jennings (72 mins),  Luke Mcgrath for Reddan (76 mins),

Referee: John Lacey (IRFU)


Boyle inspired Connacht to bonus point win over Benetton