Connacht Rugby celebrated it’s 125th year at their annual awards dinner in the Galway Bay Hotel last weekend.
Over 200 people attended the event which saw awards presented to players, coaches, volunteers and referee’s across a range of categories.
The cream of Connacht’s underage talent kicked off the ceremony followed by awards for junior and senior clubs and players and was rounded off with the player’s awards.
The focal point of the evening was the induction of Billy Mulcahy into the Connacht Hall of Fame. This prestigious award has previously been presented to Brendan Guerin, Noel Mannion, Tony O’Suillivan and Ciaran Fitzgerald and recognises an extraordinary contribution to rugby within Connacht. Billy played for Connacht throughout the 1990’s representing the Province 57 times and representing Ireland A’s 6 times along with Ireland’s famous semi-final defeat to Australia in the 1993 7’s World Cup.

Full list of winners from the 2010/11 Connacht Awards Ceremony:
•    U18 youths winner Conor Fitzgibbon (Buccs) presented by Brendan Duffy of Supermacs
•    U18 Schools winner, Robbie Henshaw (Marist) Presented by Brendan Duffy of Supermacs
•    U19 winner, Shane Layden (Carrick) Presented by Brendan Duffy of Supermacs
•    U20 winner, Mark Dolan Corinthians
•    Clubman of the Year, John Martin (UCG) presented by Siobhan Burke
•    Ladies Winner, Claire Raftery
•    Referee winner, David Connolly, presented by Eric Elwood
•    Junior Club winner, Michael Murphy (Ballina) presented by Jimmy Staunton Rugbytech
•    Senior Club winner John Cleary (Galwegians) presented by Aoife O’Donohue Aer Arann
•    Club of the year winner Sligo (John Kane, President) presented by Andrew Forde Heineken
•    Young Player of the Year Andrew Browne presented by Tom Forde Bank of Ireland
•    Player of the year Michael Swift presented by Tom Forde Bank of Ireland
•    Players Player, Johnny O’Connor
•    Players young player, Andrew Browne
•    Hall of Fame Award, Billy Mulcahy

All pics (C) – Johnathan Curran


Siobhan Burke presents John Martin (UCG RFC) with the Clubman of the year award


Brendan Duffy, Supermacs presents the U18 award to Conor Fitzgibbon (Buccaneers RFC)


Andrew Forde, Heineken presents John Kane, President of Sligo RFC with the Club of the year award


President of the Connacht branch Jim Foy presents Billy Mulcahy with the Hall of fame award


The Jes reach last four with last minute winner