Match Report by Daragh Small

Connacht coughed up 15 points without reply in the last 50 minutes as Munster defeated their provincial rivals for the second time this season.

Connacht controlled the opening half backed by a strong breeze and went in leading 13-5. Miah Nikora had kicked two penalties and a conversion of a Mata Fifita try. The Connacht try was particularly eye-catching with Eoghan Masterson showing nice hands in off-loading to Fifita who touched down under the posts.

The opening Munster effort came in the form of Darren Sweetnam who capitalised upon some confusion in the Connacht midfield before eventually crossing the whitewash after kicking through.

Munster rallied again after the break and took control with intense pressure leading to a try from Niall O’Brien. This happened only minutes after Masterson was yellow carded.

O’Brien again crossed in the corner when Alan Cotter off-loaded nicely to leave his number 8 with the easiest of finishes.

Connacht Eagles

15. Tiernan O’Halloran; 14. Shane Layden, 13. Rory Parata, 12. Dave McSharry, 11. Ciaran Gaffney; 10. Miah Nikora, 9. Frank Murphy (captain); 1. Finlay Bealham, 2. James Rael, 3. Peter Reilly; 4. Conor Kindregran, 5. Danny Qualter; 6. Mata Fifita, 7. Shane Casey, 8. Eoghan Masterson


16. Pat O’Toole, 17. Jacob Walshe, 18. Saba Meunagria, 19. Josh O’Rourke, 20. Jake Dineen, 21. Caolin Blade 22. Tadhg Leader, 23. Brian Murphy, 24. Steve Macauley, 25. David Panter

Munster ‘A’

15. Ronan O’Mahony (Capt.); 14. Darren Sweetnam, 13. Harry McNulty, 12. Cian Bohane, 11. Luke O’Dea; 10. Johnny Holland, 9. Brian Haugh; 1. Niall Horan, 2. Kevin O’Byrne, 3. Alan Cotter; 4. Ian Nagle, 5. Darren O’Shea; 6. Lee Nicholas, 7. Ryan Murphy, 8. Shane Buckley.

Replacements: 16. Ben Burns, 17. Mike Lynch, 18. Conor Glynn, 19. Luke Cahill, 20. Aidan Butler, 21. Jamie Glynn, 22. Rory Scannell, 23. David Johnston, 24. Alex Wootton


Gallery: Connacht v Benetton