Connacht Schools  7 – Leinster Schools 33 

Last Saturday in Corinthian Park, Leinster schools secured the school’s inter-provincial trophy when they defeated Connacht by 33 point to 7. Leinster opened the scoring with an early penalty when centre Matthew Gilsenan converted. Connacht had the better of the first quarter but failed to register any points. Leinster responded with two quick fire tries when full back Jack Power split the defence to score in the left corner which was quickly followed by right wing Con Callan who scorched over on the opposite corner to give Leinster a commanding 13-0 interval lead.

Connacht started the second half in determined mood and were instantly rewarded with a try when prop Conan O’Donell stormed over to allow out half Simon Keller to convert and narrow the score to 13-7. Any hope of a Connacht revival were quickly dashed as Leinster converted a penalty and tagged on further tries to leave the final score at 33-7 to the visitors.


Evan McGrath (Abbey CC Sligo),  Patrick Daly (Ballinrobe Community School), Ruairi Green (St Pauls Oughterard), Tim Costigan (Glenstal Abbey School), Jack Keegan (Summerhill College Sligo), Simon Keller (Garbally College Ballinasloe), Stephen Kerins (Summerhill College Sligo)

Conan O’Donell                (Summerhill College Sligo), Michael O’Connell                (St. Enda’s College, Galway), Joe Ugbo (Yeats College Galway), Dan Trayers (Cistercian College Roscrea),  Sam Holland (Garbally College Ballinasloe), Peter Claffey  (Garbally College Ballinasloe),  Joe Conway (Sligo Grammar) Mathew Cosgrove (Sligo Grammar) Capt.

Replacements: Joe Bennett (Sligo Grammar), Eoghan Slevin (Athlone Community College), Matt Gavin (Clifden Community School), Conal O’Brien (Marist College Athlone), Aaron Wootton (St Gerald’s College Castlebar), Tom McHale (Rice College Westport), Charlie McMicken (Marist College Athlone), Daragh Cummins (Summerhill College Sligo)



Jack Power (Blackrock College), Con Callan (St Gerard’s School) / Jake Howlett (Newbridge College) 66 mins, Colm Mulcahy (Clongowes Wood College SJ), Matthew Gilsenan (St Michael’s College),Tim Carroll (Cistercian College Roscrea), Jimmy O’Brien (Newbridge College) / Tommy Whittle (St. Gerard’s School) 59 mins, David Duggan (St Michael’s College) / Dan Lavelle (Cistercian College Roscrea) 62 mins

James Bollard (St Michael’s College) / Eoghan Byrne (Gonzaga College) 52 mins, Jonny Molony (Clongowes Wood College SJ) / Hugo Keane (Blackrock College) 59 mins, Sean O’Hare (Castleknock College) / Eoin O’Neill (St Michael’s College) 66 mins, Rob Lalor (Terenure College) / Michael Melia (Terenure College) 52 mins, James Ryan (St Michael’s College) Capt, Charlie Cregan (St Michael’s College), Will Connors (Clongowes Wood College SJ) / Greg Jones (St Andrew’s College) 62 mins, Max Deegan (St Michael’s College)


U18 and U19 matchday squads named for Interpro openers vs Ulster