This weekend, the traditional curtain raiser to the season begins. The Connacht Senior League, one of the oldest tournaments in Connacht club rugby, is played between the senior clubs in Connacht that play in the Ulster Bank Leagues. 2014’s edition will feature just four clubs; Division 1B’s Buccaneers, Galwegians and Corinthians as well as Division 2B’s Sligo. 

First played in 1926, in the 87 editions of the tournament, Galwegians are the most successful team with 28 wins. They are also the current champions, and will be hoping for their fourth win in a row, or their sixth win in the last seven years. Buccaneers will be looking to regain the title they last won in 2010. Beaten in the promotion playoff in the UBL last year, they could have the strongest team on paper and will be one to watch out for. 

Corinthians will also be dangerous having pushed Galwegians the hardest in last year’s tournament. They had the best record in the tournament with 21 wins until Galwegians overtook them, but their last tournament win was all the way back in 1995. Sligo are the only team in the competition to have not won the Senior League before. They will be hoping that 2014 will be the year they overcome that hurdle, and upset their higher division rivals.




Gallery: University of Galway hosts Kay Bowen Cup