Ahead of this afternoon’s Captain’s Run at BT Murrayfield, Connacht Head Coach Pat Lam has named his match day squad to take on Leinster Rugby in the Guinness PRO12 final tomorrow (kick off 5:30pm – live on SKY Sports and TG4).

For the first time all season, the Connacht coach has made no changes to the match day 23 from the last fixture.

Galway man John Muldoon will captain the side in his 275th game for the province and is joined in the back row by flankers Eoin McKeon and Jake Heenan.

Finlay Bealham and Ultan Dillane, two of five Connacht players named this week in the Ireland squad for the June tour to South Africa, start up front. Tighthead Bealham is the only player to have featured in all 31 games for the province this season.

Ireland internationals Kieran Marmion and Robbie Henshaw are named in the backline with AJ MacGinty once again handed the reigns at outhalf. Niyi Adeolokun – last weekend’s try scorer against Glasgow Warriors – lines out on the right wing.

Commenting on the upcoming game, Pat Lam said:

“It’s exciting that this is the first time in 31 games that we’ve been able to name the same match day squad from one week to the next. These 23 players are the fortunate ones who have earned the opportunity to wear the jersey and represent their team mates and the whole of Connacht in our first final.

“Preparation continues to be our big focus this week. We know how tough it will be against Leinster who have a huge amount of experience in finals rugby.  But we know that if we stick to our structures and systems and channel all the emotion and physicality in to our performance, we have a real chance of making history.”

Connacht team to face Leinster Rugby, Saturday 28th May, BT Murrayfield, 5:30pm

15           Tiernan O’Halloran
14           Niyi Adeolokun
13           Robbie Henshaw
12           Bundee Aki
11           Matt Healy
10           AJ MacGinty
9              Kieran Marmion

1              Ronan Loughney
2              Tom McCartney
3              Finlay Bealham
4              Ultan Dillane
5              Aly Muldowney
6              Eoin McKeon
7              Jake Heenan
8              John Muldoon (captain)


16           Dave Heffernan
17           JP Cooney
18           Rodney Ah You
19           Andrew Browne
20           Sean O’Brien
21           John Cooney
22           Shane O’Leary
23           Peter Robb

Injured/Unavailable: Denis Buckley, Nathan White, Conan O’Donnell, Ben Marshall, Nepia Fox-Matamua, Eoghan Masterson, Dave McSharry, Api Pewhairangi, Darragh Leader.

Saturday May 28th
At BT Murrayfield, 5.30pm
Live on Sky Sports & TG4

Referee: Nigel Owens (WRU, 136th competition game, 4th Final)
Assistant Referees: Ian Davies, Ben Whitehouse (WRU)
Officials: 4 Lloyd Linton; 5 Bob Nevins; 6 Tom Mc Nicol (all SRU)
Timekeeper; Paul Cyphus (SRU)
Citing Commissioner: Maurizio Vancini (FIR)
TMO: Jon Mason (WRU)



Complete a URC survey and win free tickets!