Connacht continue their pre-season preparations with a game against London based, Aviva Premiership side Wasps at High Wycombe tomorrow, Saturday August 23rd (kick off 14:30).

Head Coach Pat Lam will bring an extended squad of 28 players to London which includes a mix of new signings, established players and talented Academy prospects.

Having already played Clermont Auvergne as part of the pre-season schedule, this second fixture presents another opportunity for the coaches to blend the new summer signings and development players into the squad and test out the new systems and structures against a tough opposition.

Denis Buckley, Dave Heffernan and Finlay Bealham – all graduates of the Connacht Academy – make up the front row trio.

In the absence of John Muldoon (tight hamstring), 23-year-old Mick Kearney has been handed the captaincy for tomorrow’s game. Kearney, part of the touring Emerging Ireland squad this summer, is joined in the second row by South African born lock Quinn Roux.

Academy graduate Jack Carty is handed the reins at outhalf and he links up with new signing Ian Porter at scrum half.

Former Trinity player Niyi Adeolokun has earned a start on the right wing following his performances in training and the pre-season test with Clermont where the 23-year-old touched down for Connacht’s try in the second half.

Wasps v Connacht
High Wycombe
Saturday August 23rd
kick off 2:30pm

Traveling supporters or Connacht fans based in and around London can purchase tickets at the gate tomorrow or by calling the Wasps Ticket Office on 0844 847 1867.

The Connacht Clan will be located in the Panache Stand (formally the Dreams Stand).

Connacht line-up v Wasps

15           Tiernan O’Halloran

14           Niyi Adeolokun*

13           Darragh Leader

12           Dave McSharry

11           Danie Poolman

10           Jack Carty

9              Ian Porter*

1              Denis Buckley

2              Dave Heffernan

3              Finlay Bealham

4              Quinn Roux*

5              Mick Kearney ©

6              Eoin McKeon

7              Willie Faloon

8              George Naoupu



16           Sean Henry

17           JP Cooney

18           Rodney Ah You

19           Michael Swift

20           Danny Qualter

21           Caolin Blade

22           Craig Ronaldson

23           Fionn Carr

24           Eoghan Masterson

25           Shane O’Leary*

26           Conor Finn*

27           Rory Parata

28           Shane Layden

*uncapped for Connacht

Unavailable: Tom McCartney, Kieran Marmion, Bundee Aki, Robbie Henshaw, Mils Muliaina, Jason Harris Wright, Ronan Loughney, Nathan White, Andrew Browne, Aly Muldowney, Mata Fifita, Jake Heenan, John Muldoon, John Cooney, Matt Healy


All you need to know: Connacht v Munster