The IRFU today announced that the first ever women’s RBS 6 Nations fixture to be staged at the AVIVA stadium will take place on 8th March 2014 as part of an RBS 6 Nations Super Saturday double-header as the men and women’s team take on their Italian counterparts.  
The historic match was confirmed as an extended squad of 33 players was announced by the Ireland women’s management as they prepare for their defense of their RBS 6 Nations title.  The squad includes a number of seasoned internationals alongside some new faces who have emerged this season.
Kick-off times and ticketing information for the Ireland v Italy women’s RBS 6 Nations fixture, which will take place after the men’s game, will be announced in early 2014 after it is confirmed to rugby clubs.
Head Coach, Philip Doyle said
“Selecting a squad is always hard and this year has to be without doubt the hardest yet.  Selection has been based on the players form throughout the AIL matches, including the English premiership matches where a lot of the exiles players are playing their rugby, and the inter-pro series which concluded at the weekend.”
“Some new faces have made this year’s squad which is always a good sign that the competition and standards are rising still.”
“We look forward to working with all the players in the coming weeks in preparation for this year’s RBS 6 Nations where, of course, we will be doing our very best to defend our title, at the same time making sure that we also use these very important games to very good use with the World Cup 2014 looming very large in the not so distance future”
“Playing in the AVIVA stadium is sure to be one of hopefully many highlights of the 2014 campaign and I know that the team will do their very best to give the AVIVA crowd a great display of rugby.”
Ireland open their campaign with a home fixture against Scotland on Friday, 31st January in Ashbourne RFC.
Ireland Women’s Squad
Ashleigh Baxter (Belfast Harlequins /Ulster)
Gill Bourke (UL Bohemians/Munster)
Niamh Briggs (UL Bohemians/Munster)
Lynne Cantwell (Richmond /Exile)
Hannah Casey (Saracens/Exile)*
Fiona Coghlan (UL Bohemians/Leinster)
Kerri –Ann Craddock (Saracens/Exile)*
Amy Davis (Blackrock /Ulster)
Grace Davitt (Cooke/Ulster)
Ailis Egan (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
Paula Fitzpatrick (St. Mary’s/Leinster)
Orla Fitzsimmons (St. Mary’s/Leinster)*
Siobhan Fleming (Tralee/Munster)
Laura Guest (Highfield/Munster)
Fiona Hayes (UL Bohemians/Munster)
Ashling Hutchings (UL Bohemians/Munster)*
Jemma Jackson (Queens University/Ulster)*
Stacey-Lea Kennedy (Cooke/Ulster)
Sharon Lynch (Old Belvedere/Leinster)*
Vikkie Mc Ginn (Blackrock /Leinster)*
Alison Miller (Portlaoise RFC/UCC/Connacht)
Sarah Mimnagh (Richmond/Exile)*
Claire Molloy (Bristol/Connacht)
Larissa Muldoon (Bristol/Exile)
Jenny Murphy (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
Heather O’ Brien (Highfield/Munster)
Ruth O’Reilly (Galwegians/Connacht)
Geraldine Rae (Highfield/Munster)
Marie –Louise Reilly (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
Jackie Shiels (Richmond/Exile)
Juliet Short (Newcastle/Exile)*
Sophie Spence (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
Nora Stapleton (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
* Denotes uncapped player


U18 and U19 matchday squads named for Interpro openers vs Ulster