Connacht Women’s League Final – Preview

Ballyhaunis RFC will, this Saturday, host the final of what has been a tremendous Connacht Women’s League.

League debutantes Castlebar RFC will face Canterbury Warriors RFC, both of which make their first appearance in a league final.

Canterbury Warriors, sponsored by Canterbury, formed by the amalgamation of Carrick on Shannon RFC and Longford RFC women’s teams in August of this year.  Both teams had suffered from the departure of a number of players, and it was appropriately decided that an amalgamation was the way forward in order to preserve women’s rugby in the region. The team boasts great experience within its ranks, including former Connacht squad members Yvonne Dowd and Mairead Coy. Although they required a helping hand from NUIG RFC, whose defeat of Tuam RFC sealed the final spot for the Warriors, they can lay claim to being the only team this season to defeat the rampant Castlebar RFC.

The league debutantes marked their entry into competitive rugby with a ferocious bonus-point winning streak this winter. The squad started out from scratch just a little over a year ago and has gone from strength to strength in that short period of time. Numbers have grown exponentially, with a panel of over thirty players at present.

The team, sponsored by “The Castle Inn”, Castlebar,  Murrays Ambulance Service, Cuffe Car Sales, Belcarra, and Divas & Stud’s Hair Stylist and Makeup Artist, Claremorris, will be hoping for a reversal of fortunes to when they last faced Nuala McGoey’s charges.

Connacht Women’s League Final:

Saturday, 23rd November, Ballyhaunis RFC. KO: 2pm.

Canterbury Warriors Ladies Panel:

Maeve McKeon
Caithriona Kielty
Yvonne Dowd
Nuala McGoey (Captain)
Kelly Richardson
Carol Manning
Mairead Coy
Lisa O’Donnell
Margaret Murphy
Aoife Kelly
Linda Corcoran
Stacey Donoghoe
Genny Butler
Emma Dardis
Claire McDermott
Cliodhna O’Donnell
Tasha Pennamon
Mirium Gonzalo
Leona Mulvill Farrell
Michelle Duffy
Emma Mulvey
Mary Cronogue
Management :
Alan Portuby
Damien Curley
Karen Lennon

Christy Cusack

John Leneghan


Castlebar Ladies Panel:

Cathy Blake
Caroline Brennan
Yvonne Byrne
Charlotte Conor
Claire Cuff
Marcella Derrig
Emma Doyle
Martha Egan
Aileen Feely
Margaret Fitzgibbon

Serena Flynn
Tara Grufferty
Nicola Hall (VC)
Kiara Irwin
Grace Kelly
Sandra Kenny
Noelle Kilduff
Rowena McLoughlin

Linda McManamon

Yvonne McNabb
Audrey McNicholas

Fiona NicRuairi
Patricia Niland
Darwyn O’Halloran

AnneMarie O’Hora

Joanne Reilly
Caroline Staunton (Captain)
Cora Staunton
Jacinta Walsh


Ger Prendergast


 Castlebar RFC 680

Canterbury Warriors RFC 680


Connacht Emerging Talent squad named for game against Leinster North Midlands