Mike Ruddock has named the PWC U20 selection for their opening fixture of the Junior World Cup against France in the QBE Stadium in Auckland.

Galway-born Ciaran Gaffney is named on the right wing for his first Ireland U20 cap. The Galwegians back is one of two uncapped players in the starting XV with Terenure prop Craig Trenier named in the front row.

UL Bohemians’ Jack O’Donoghoe captain’s the side for the first time.

There are five uncapped players on the bench UCD’s Dylan Donnellan and Billy Dardis, Cork Con duo Darragh Moloney and Ryan Foley and Young Munster’s Diarmuid Dee.

Ireland will play Wales in Pukekohe on Friday 6th June before returning to Auckland to play Fiji on Tuesday 10th June.

PwC IRELAND U20 v France – JWC2014 Pool B

15. Cian Kelleher (Lansdowne/Leinster)

14. Ciaran Gaffney (Galwegians/Connacht) *                                                    

13. Garry Ringrose (UCD/Leinster)

12. Dan Goggin  (Young Munster/Munster)         

11. Ian Fitzpatrick (Lansdowne/Leinster)               

10. Ross Byrne (UCD/Leinster)

9. Nick McCarthy (UCD/Leinster)


1. Peter Dooley (Lansdowne/Leinster)

2. Max Abbott   (Cork Constitution/Munster)

3. Craig Trenier (Terenure/Leinster) *

4. Stephen Gardiner (Lansdowne/Leinster)

5. Ross Molony (UCD/Leinster)

6. Peadar Timmins (UCD/Leinster)

7. Frankie Taggart (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)

8. Jack O’ Donoghue (UL Bohemians/Munster) capt



16. Dylan Donnellan (UCD/Leinster) *

17. Denis Coulson (Lansdowne/Leinster)              

18. Rory Burke (Cork Constitution/Munster)

19. Darragh Moloney (Cork Constitution/Munster) *

20. Diarmaid Dee (Young Munster/Munster) *

21. Ryan Foley (Cork Constitution/Munster) *

22. Conor McKeon (Lansdowne/Leinster)

23. Billy Dardis (UCD/Leinster) *

*uncapped players



All you need to know: Connacht v Munster