With thanks to Rob Murphy/www.knockon.ie

Galwegians 24 25 Corinthians

Corinthians won with a dramatic last gasp try from Pat Cunningham and conversion from Mick O’Flynn giving them a memorable victory and a place in the All Ireland Cup Semi Final in the new year.

Corinthians had led 7-0 early thanks to Gary Ward’s try. Rob O’Berin’s penalty and a brilliantly orchestrated try from the fleet footed John Cleary put wegians 10-7 up midway through the half.

Shane Mullaly responded with a penalty for Corinthians but Eoin McKeon touched down on a push over try for wegians before half time for a 15-10 lead.

In the second half, Mick O’Flynn came on at out half with Mullaly in the sin bin and notched a penalty to bring his side within two before creating a bizzare try.

It came from a penalty attempt that hit the post and came straight back into his arms, catching the defence off guard he attacked left and shoveled a pass out to Cian Begley for a try and an 18-15 lead.

In injury time Tadgh Leader kicked a stunning long range penalty under huge pressure to level matters and Brian McClearn almost scored an intercept try with the last play of the game.

Then came extra time in the twilight. Crazy stuff, but on they played and Leader kicked two penalties in either half of extra time for a six point lead before the last second dram saw Corinthians score that seven point.

There was still time for one more wegians penalty which just drifted wide from Leader, it was a tough kick and he had nailed three beauties before that but Corinthians had the edge in the end.

It was a gutsy finish by the winners who retain the cup and will now go on the represent Connacht in the All Ireland Cup semi final. A huge fillip for the whole squad who will get back to chasing promotion on January 8 against UCD.

Meanwhile Galwegians are looking back over another narrow late defeat despite a strong effort.

Corinthians: Rob Kennedy; Darren Classens, Cian Begley, Wayne Williams, Finn Gormley; S Mullaly, Mike Roche; Dennis Buckley, Joe Merrigan, Tom Tolan; Gary Ward, Pat Cunningham (c); Shane Conneely, Aaron Conneeley; Liam Carpernter

Replacement: Mark Dolan, Barry Famasu’li, Mike O’Flynn, Donnacha Phelan; Shane Gerrity.

Galwegians: Rob O’Beirn; Brian Murphy, Paul Conway, Dave Clarke, John Cleary; Tadgh Leader, Barry Lee; Ja Naughton, Conor Muldoon, Jamie Stephens; Brian McClearn, Dave O’Hara; Ian Cullinane, Ivan Muldoon, Eoin McKeon.

Replacements Used: J Mackey, R Shaughnessy, R Dillon, L Casserly

Ref: Dave Connolly.

Pictures (C) Joe O’Shaughnessy/[email protected]






Gallery: HT minis – Ballinrobe, Ballyhaunis, Corinthians and Dunmore