Cyril Shaw Memorial Cup


Jim Foy and Johnny Brennan being presented with the Cyril Shaw Memorial Cup

Buccaneers RFC U17’s beat Monavea RFC U17’s by 18 points to 6 to claim the inaugral Cyril Shaw Memorial Cup at the Sportsground in Galway.
The Cyril Shaw Memorial Trophy for the Connacht U-17 Cup competition was presented recently by Iris from the Shaw family in memory of the late Cyril Shaw.
Cyril was one of the local rugby enthusiasts who helped to re-launch Sligo RFC in 1957, after it had had been inactive for the previous four years. He served as President of the club from 1957-1959, when also a playing member, and continued to play until the early 1960’s.
Cyril subsequently served on the club’s Committee, and was centrally involved when Sligo RFC purchased and developed their present grounds at Strandhill in 1969.


Iris Shaw prensenting Buccaneers U17 withthe Cyril Shaw Meroial Cup

Other finals on the day included the U14 Cup final which was won by Corinthians and the U19 League final which was contested between Buccaneers and Monivea.


Johnny Brennan presents Corinthians U14 with the Connacht U14 Cup


Connacht Emerging Talent squad named for game against Leinster North Midlands