Bateman Ballgame: Dubarry Decider

Buccaneers host Galwegians this Friday night, each chasing a homeground semi-final in the AIL Senior Bateman Cup.

One of the country’s oldest competitions, the Bateman Cup (since 1922) pits each province’s knock-out champions against the other for national supremacy. Connacht, sluggish by comparison to their northern, eastern and southern counterparts in determining a contender, will finalise its entry around 8.30pm this Friday evening.

Sean Gallagher has the whistle, backed by a Tom Horkan/Daniel Collins combo sideline.

The winner will host Munster’s Garryowen next Saturday, January 21. The other semi-final unleashes Ulster’s Ballymena against Old Belvedere from Leinster, at Dublin’s Anglesea Road the same weekend. The final is scheduled for the weekend of April 28,29.

The Bateman Cup dates back to 1922, Lansdowne etching its name as the inaugural winner. Of 2012’s contenders, Garryowen is its most recent holder claiming cup honours in April 2007.


Gallery: HT minis – Ballinrobe, Ballyhaunis, Corinthians and Dunmore