Head coach Mossy Lawler has named his Connacht Eagles side ahead of round 2 in the British & Irish Cup and the trip to play London Irish on Saturday. There are six personnel changes from the starting XV that lined out against Cornish Pirates in the opening round five days ago.

With changes to the senior side who travel to play Zebre in the Champions Cup tomorrow afternoon, there is a reshuffle to the Eagles backline with Dave Panter drafted in from Galwegians RFC to start at fullback.

Luke Carty, younger brother of senior outhalf Jack, swaps the number 15 shirt for 10 this week while Mitch Lam, who scored all ten points last Sunday, lines out at inside centre.

Wing Adam Leavy and scrumhalf Conor McKeon from the Connacht Academy are further personnel changes to the youthful backline.

Cronan Gleeson and Pat O’Toole are both promoted from the bench to start in the front row, while experienced lock Lewis Stevenson is named in the second row where he partners this week’s team captain Danny Qualter.

Commenting on the upcoming game, Mossy Lawler said:

“It’s another big challenge this week as we head over to London Irish with a very young and relatively inexperienced group but the team are determined to put in a performance we can be proud of. There were some positive aspects to our game last week, despite the loss, but we know we will need to build on these and improve across the board to give us a chance tomorrow.”

Connacht Eagles team to face London Irish, Madejski Stadium, Sat October 22nd, 3pm

(Connacht senior caps and affiliated club in brackets)

15 Dave Panter (Corinthians RFC)
14 Adam Leavy (Galwegians RFC)
13 Rory Parata (18) (Galwegians RFC)
12 Mitch Lam (Galwegians RFC)
11 Ed O’Keeffe (Galwegians RFC)
10 Luke Carty (Buccaneers RFC)
9 Conor McKeon (2) (Buccaneers RFC)

1 Cronan Gleeson (Nenagh RFC)
2 Pat O’Toole (Corinthians RFC)
3 Jason East (Galwegians RFC)
4 Lewis Stevenson (6)
5 Danny Qualter (captain) (14) Buccaneers RFC)
6 Marc Kelly (Galwegians RFC)
7 James Connolly (21) (Corinthians RFC)
8 Stephen McVeigh (Buccaneers RFC)


16 Shane O’Hehir (Sligo RFC)
17 Ja Naughton (Galwegians RFC)
18 Sean Masterson (Corinthians RFC)
19 Josh Pim (Galwegians RFC)
20 Stephen Kerins (Corinthians RFC)
21 Jordan Conroy (Buccaneers RFC)
22 Joe Murphy (Corinthians RFC)

London Irish v Connacht Eagles
Saturday October 22nd 2016
Madejski Stadium
Kick off 3pm

Tickets for London Irish v Connacht Eagles at the Madejski Stadium in Reading can be purchased online here.


Bealham, Hansen and Aki named in Ireland squad to face Wales