While the senior team travel to Scotland to take on Glasgow Warriors in the PRO12, the Connacht Eagles welcome Munster ‘A’ to the Sportsground this Friday afternoon (kick off 14:30).

Head Coach Nigel Carolan has named his side for the third interpro game of the season for the Eagles and the second against rivals Munster. The last time the two sides met was in September at Musgrave Park and the game finished 20 – 12 in favor of the hosts with Connacht winger Steve Macauley crossing for two Eagles’ tries.

This week, Carolan has named a squad that includes a good mix of Senior, Academy and club players from around the province.

Miah Nikora has been named at outhalf for his first game of the season. The veteran number 10 has recovered from his long-term injury to earn some valuable game time with the Eagles.  Nikora and captain Frank Murphy make up the half back pairing.

Another notable addition in the back line is Dave McSharry. The 23-year-old had been side-lined with injury since Connacht’s Heineken Cup game against Toulouse in December. He partners Rory Parata in the centre.

Former Munster Academy hooker James Rael makes up the front row with Academy props Finlay Bealham and Peter Reilly.

Eoghan Masterson, who was handed a PRO12 start against the Scarlets in November, is named at Number 8.

Please note there is no charge for the game at the Sportsground and there will be some parking available inside the grounds.  All support is welcome.

Connacht Eagles

15. Tiernan O’Halloran
14. Shane Layden
13. Rory Parata
12. Dave McSharry
11. Ciaran Gaffney
10. Miah Nikora
9. Frank Murphy (captain)

1. Finlay Bealham
2. James Rael
3. Peter Reilly
4. Conor Kindregran
5. Danny Qualter
6. Mata Fifita
7. Shane Casey
8. Eoghan Masterson


16. Pat O’Toole
17. Jacob Walshe
18. Saba Meunagria
19. Josh O’Rourke
20. Jake Dineen
21. Caolin Blade
22. Tadhg Leader
23. Brian Murphy
24. Steve Macauley
25. David Panter


Munster A Head Coach Peter Malone also named his side which will be captained by full back Ronan O’Mahony.

Munster ‘A’ team

Ronan O’Mahony (Capt.); Darren Sweetnam, Harry McNulty, Cian Bohane, Luke O’Dea; Johnny Holland, Brian Haugh; Niall Horan, Kevin O’Byrne, Alan Cotter; Ian Nagle, Darren O’Shea; Lee Nicholas, Ryan Murphy, Shane Buckley. Replacements: Ben Burns, Mike Lynch, Conor Glynn, Luke Cahill, Aidan Butler, Jamie Glynn, Rory Scannell, David Johnston, Alex Wootton


4 Connacht Academy players named in Irish U20 squad to face Wales