Ireland Women’s Coach Philip Doyle has named an extended squad of 34 for the first training camp this season. The squad features many of the players who helped Ireland to their highest ever finish at the Women’s World Championship earlier this year while also featuring a few new faces.

Last season’s captain Fiona Coghlan and Ireland’s most capped woman Lynne Cantwell are among a host of experienced players named in the squad.
Four players are unavailable through injury: Tania Rosser continues her rehab from the injury she picked up at the World Championship while newcomer Eliza Downey while Shannon Houston and Alison Miller are also ruled out at this stage.

Lauren Day, who missed out on the World Championship when she picked up an injury in training, returns to the squad and there are some new faces in the likes of Stacey Lee Kennedy, Jean Moore and Larissa Muldoon.
The back-room team sees the addition of Keith Murphy as Assistant Coach while Greg McWilliams will join the Management during the preparations for the 6 Nations.

Ireland Women’s Squad
Gillian Bourke (Munster/Bristol)
Niamh Briggs (Munster/ UL Bohemians)
Lynne Cantwell (Exile/Richmond)
Emma Cleary (Connacht/ UL Bohemians)
Fiona  Coghlan (Leinster/ UL Bohemians)
Amy Davis (Leinster/Blackrock)
Lauren Day (Ulster/Waterloo)
Ailis Egan (Leinster/Old Belvedere)
Orla Fitzsimons (Leinster/St Marys)
Siobhan Fleming (Munster/ Tralee RFC)
Laura Guest (Munster/Highfield RFC)
Ashling Hutchings (Munster/ UL Bohemians)
Helen Jones (Munster/Highfield RFC)
Niamh Kavanagh (Munster/ UL Bohemians)
Mairead Kelly (Munster/ UL Bohemians)
Stacey Lee Kennedy (Ulster/City of Derry)
Emer McManamly (Leinster/Blackrock)
Claire Molloy (Connacht /Bristol)
Jean Moore (Connacht/Portlaoise)

Larissa Muldoon (Exile)
Joy Neville (Munster/ UL Bohemians)
Gill Nolan (Leinster/St Marys)
Deirdre O’Brien (Leinster/Blackrock)
Heather O’Brien (Munster/ Highfield RFC)
Imogen Porter (Ulster/Cooke)
Clare Raftery (Connacht/Galwegians)
Geraldine Rea (Munster/ Highfield RFC)
Marie Louise Reilly (Leinster/Old Belvedere)
Michelle Ross (Leinster/St Marys)
Kate Sheehan (Munster/ UL Bohemians)
Jackie Shiels (Exile/Richmond)
Nora Stapleton (Leinster/Old Belvedere)
Carol Staunton (Connacht/Galwegians)
Ailish Toner (Munster)

Ireland Women’s Team Management

Philip Doyle – Coach
Keith Murphy – Assistant Coach
Rachel Reid – Team Manager
Ross Callaghan – Strength & Conditioning Coach
Brian Roantree – Team Assistant
Jessica O’Riordan -Team Doctor
Ulrik McCarthy Persson – Team Physio
Dominic Hoban – Team Physio 2
Len Browne – Team Analyst
Jessica O’Brien – Team Co-ordinator

For further information contact:
Maria Boland, IRFU Communications Department
E-mail: [email protected]
Phone: +353 (0) 16473828


Connacht Emerging Talent squad named for game against Leinster North Midlands