Head Coach Pat Lam has named his side to face Ospreys tomorrow at the Sportsground (KO 5pm) and there are four changes to the starting XV from last week.

Upfront, hooker Sean Henry comes in for the injured Jason Harris-Wright. The 25-year-old Sligo man, who picked up game time in all three RaboDirect PRO12 fixtures to date, is joined in the front row by veteran props Brett Wilkinson and Nathan White.

There are changes to the back row with Galway man Andrew Browne named at number 6 and Jake Heenan moving to the openside.


Craig Ronaldson 25/6/2013

Craig Ronaldson is named at starting outhalf to face Ospreys


In the backs, Fionn Carr makes way for Danie Poolman who is named in his favoured position on the right wing. Summer signing Craig Ronaldson will start at out half in his fourth professional appearance for the province since moving from reigning AIL club champions Lansdowne RFC. The 23-year-old was named Division 1A Player of the Year after scoring a remarkable 206 points in 16 games last season.

Danie Poolman 30/8/2013

Danie Poolman starts on the right wing

From the replacements bench, former Ireland Under-20s hooker James Rael could make his first appearance in Connacht colours tomorrow evening.

Speaking about the team selection and the upcoming fixture, Head Coach Pat Lam said:

“Losing both Wilile and Jason was a big loss for us as a team but it presents an opportunity for other, young players to step up.

“We’re looking forward to Craig’s first start at this level. He deserves his opportunity after his work in pre-season and has done well coming on from the bench in the last three games.

“Ospreys present another big challenge for us and another step up. They are four time league champions and are undefeated so far this season. They will come here full of confidence with their returning Lions’ players.

“We’ve had a good week training and we’re looking forward to confronting the challenge ahead.”  

Connacht line-up v Ospreys                                                                                       

15.          Gavin Duffy
14.          Danie Poolman
13.          Robbie Henshaw
12.          Eoin Griffin
11.          Matt Healy
10.          Craig Ronaldson
9.            Kieran Marmion

1.            Brett Wilkinson
2.            Sean Henry
3.            Nathan White
4.            Michael Swift (captain)
5.            Craig Clarke
6.            Andrew Browne
7.            Jake Heenan
8.            John Muldoon


16. James Rael
17. Rodney Ah You
18. Ronan Loughney
19. Aly Muldowney
20. George Naoupu
21. Paul O’Donohoe
22. Dan Parks
23. Fionn Carr

Unavailable through Injury: Denis Buckley, Willie Faloon, Conor Finn, Jason Harris-Wright, Eoin McKeon, Shane Layden, Tadhg Leader, Dave McSharry, Miah Nikora, Kyle Tonetti, and Marcus Walsh

Connacht v Ospreys
Saturday, 28th September
At Sportsground, 5pm.
Referee: Andrew McMenemy (SRU, 23rd competition game)
Assistant Referees: Leo Colgan, David O’Flynn (both IRFU)
Citing Commissioner: John West (IRFU)

The round 4 fixture will not be televised so the only way to get in on the action is to get down to the Sportsground. Tickets for Connacht v Ospreys are available online from tickets.ie, from the Connacht Rugby office, and from Centra and SuperValu stores province-wide.

Adult tickets start at €20 while all Juniors (4 – 17 years old) are €5.

– See more at: http://www.connachtrugby.ie/2013092783512/four-changes-for-round-4-clash#sthash.YMLezVW0.dpuf


All you need to know: Connacht v Benetton