The Irish Under-20 side (Sponsored by PwC) to face New Zealand Under-20’s in the 3rd place play-off of the IRB Junior World Championship has been named.

Head Coach Mike Ruddock has made a number changes to the side that lost out to England for their final game of the tournament but has retained the services of in-form Connacht Academy back Ciaran Gaffney for his fifth consecutive start on the right wing,

Jack O’Donoghue has been ruled out of the game as he continues to observe to the ‘return to play’ concussion protocols.  Peadar Timmins will captain the side.

The back row sees Timmins joined by Connacht’s Rory Moloney who is named at openside flanker with Frank Taggart moving to No. 8.

Dylan Donnellan and Oisin Heffernan both make their first start of the tournament partnering Peter Dooley in the front row with Darragh Moloney named in the second row alongside Ross Moloney.

Harrison Brewer is named in the centre along with Garry Ringrose.

Ringrose has been named in the IRB shortlist of four nominees for the IRB Junior Player of the Year 2014 Award. The winner will be announced following the final at Eden Park in Auckland on Friday.

Speaking ahead of the final test, Ruddock said “Trying to defeat a New Zealand team in Eden Park is a formidable challenge for any Irish team but we will give it our best shot”

TG4 have confirmed that they will broadcast this game live on Friday morning ahead to the IRB JWC Final. They will also show highlights of the game at 8.30pm on Friday evening (Irish Time)

Ireland Under-20 Team to play New Zealand Under-20 (IRB Junior World Championship 3rd Place Play-off, Eden Park, Auckland – Friday 20th June, kick-off 17.05hrs local time/06.05hrs Irish Time)

15 Cian Kelleher (Lansdowne/Leinster)

14 Ciaran Gaffney (Galwegians/Connacht)

13 Garry Ringrose (UCD/Leinster)

12 Harrisson Brewer (Terenure/Leinster)

11 Alex Wootton (Garryowen/Munster)

10 Ross Byrne (UCD/Leinster)

9 Nick McCarthy (UCD/Leinster)

1 Peter Dooley (Lansdowne/Leinster)

2 Dylan Donnellan (UCD/Leinster)

3 Oisin Heffernan (Lansdowne/Leinster)

4 Darragh Moloney (Cork Constitution/Munster)

5 Ross Molony (UCD/Leinster)

6 Peadar Timmins (UCD/Leinster) Capt

7 Rory Moloney (Buccaneers/Connacht)

8 Frank Taggart (Belfast Harlequins/ Ulster)


16 Max Abbott (Cork Constitution/Munster)

17 Denis Coulson (Lansdowne/Leinster)

18 Rory Burke (Cork Constitution/Munster)

19 Stephen Gardiner (Lansdowne/Leinster)

20 Josh Murphy (UCD/Leinster)

21 Ryan Foley (Lansdowne/Leinster)

22 Conor McKeon (Lansdowne/Leinster)

23 Dan Goggin (Young Munster /Munster)


Carty makes history as Connacht tame Lions