Gaffney named for U20 semi-final

The Irish Under-20 side (Sponsored by PwC) to face England Under-20’s in the semi-final of the IRB Junior World Championship has been named.

Head Coach Mike Ruddock made three changes to the side that overcame Fiji 38 – 0 in their final pool game of the tournament.

Nick McCarthy is named at scrum half with Peadar Timmins and Frank Taggart named in the backrow.

19-year-old Connacht Academy back Ciaran Gaffney, who scored a try in Tuesday’s victory over Fiji, has been handed his fourth consecutive start of the competition.

Academy flanker Rory Moloney, who started the last game, has been named among the replacements for Sunday’s semi final clash.

Speaking ahead of the test, Ruddock said “England, the current World Champions are our next opponents and it doesn’t get any bigger than that. They will be confident after beating us in the 6 Nations, but we have improved since then. Nothing less than our ‘A game’ will do.”

The games will be shown live on TG4 and Sky Sports

Ireland Under-20 Team to play England Under-20 (IRB Junior World Championship Semi-Final, QBE Stadium, Auckland – Sunday 15th June, kick-off 17.05hrs local time/06.05hrs Irish Time)

15 Cian Kelleher (Lansdowne/Leinster)

14 Ciaran Gaffney (Galwegians/Connacht)

13 Garry Ringrose (UCD/Leinster)

12 Dan Goggin (Young Munster /Munster)

11 Alex Wootton (Garryowen/Munster)

10 Ross Byrne (UCD/Leinster)

9 Nick McCarthy (UCD/Leinster)


1 Peter Dooley (Lansdowne/Leinster)

2 Max Abbott (Cork Constitution/Munster)

3 Rory Burke (Cork Constitution/Munster)

4 Stephen Gardiner (Lansdowne/Leinster)

5 Ross Molony (UCD/Leinster)

6 Peadar Timmins (UCD/Leinster)

7 Frank Taggart (Belfast Harlequins/ Ulster)

8 Jack O’ Donoghue (ULBohemians/Munster) (Capt)


16 Dylan Donnellan (UCD/Leinster)

17 Denis Coulson (Lansdowne/Leinster)

18 Oisin Heffernan (Lansdowne/Leinster)

19 Darragh Moloney (Cork Constitution/Munster)

20 Rory Moloney (Buccaneers/Connacht)

21 Ryan Foley (Lansdowne/Leinster)

22 Conor McKeon (Lansdowne/Leinster)

23 Harrisson Brewer (Terenure/Leinster)





All you need to know: Connacht v Munster