Gallen Community School beat Athlone Community College in the final of the Top Oil Junior Development Schools Cup in the Sportsground on Wednesday after a hard fought encounter. Athlone CC had the first chance of the day after just five minutes but the penalty kick bounced off the upright to deny them the score and five minutes later it was Gallen who got the scoreboard ticking when outhalf and captain Sean Flynn rounded the Athlone defence to score wide on the right hand side. Gallen enjoyed the lionshare of possession in the first half but Athlone’s dogged defence and tenacious counter rucking kept them at bay and the first half finished fiver nil to Gallen.
Gallen piled on the pressure in the second half and after a long period camped in the Athlone half crashed over for the second try of the match. The conversion brought the score out to 12-0 and when outhalf Flynn kicked a penalty with five minutes to go there was no coming back for the Athlone side, the final score at the Sportsground Athlone CC 0-15 Gallen CS

To view all images from the final CLICK HERE.

Athlone Community College: 1. Michael Kenny 2. Tommy Devery 3. James Garvey 4. Joey Killion 5. Julian Devaney 6. Patrick Tolan 7. Krystian Kowalski 8. Oisin Rock 9. Roan Byrne 10. Tagdh Moody 11. Patrick Lynch 12. Fearghus Lennon 13. Alex Clinton Byrne 14. J Mateos Rodriguez 15. Oisin Lennon 16. Jason Nugent 17. Andrew Flood 18. Aaron Oyiki 19. Sean Reynolds 20. David King 21. Aaron Wall
Gallen CS: 1. Ruairi Carroll 2. Aaron McCabe 3. Griffin Dunican 4. Bill Egan 5. Oliver Cusak 6. Shane Hynes 7. Clive Kenna 8. Conor Kenny 9. Jamie Kelly 10. Sean Flynn(c) 11. Paul Devery 12. Darragh Carroll 13. Bernard Corcoran 14. Jack Buckley 15. Harry Balsiger 16. Adan Reams 17. Dawson Maher 18. Cian Darcy 19. M Franco-Guardiola 20. Adam Nugent 21. Josh Dunican 22. Ignagio Moratal





The Jes reach last four with last minute winner