300 ArticleGalwegians 16-14 Sligo 

Photo Gallery Here

Galwegians regained the Connacht Under 17 League after a three year abscence with a hard fought 16-14 win over a strong Sligo side on Sunday last in Ballyhaunis.  Playing with the aid of a huge first half breeze Wegians established some territory and went 6-0 in front via a drop goal and penalty from out-half Morgan Codyre. Sligo worked their way into the game with their very strong pack beginning to make inroads and were rewarded with an excellent try by their left wing who ran the length of the pitch and evaded a number of tackles. The try was converted and the score was 7-6 as the half-time whistle blew. Wegians , now facing the breeze, began brightly and regained the lead through another Codyre penalty to make it 9-7. Sligo then raised there game and ran possession from deep but wegians made their tackles on the sticky surface and gained confidence. Centre Paul Butler made a dramatic intercept and looked to be going all the way only to be hauled down in the Sligo 22. Butler made amends shortly after that when he broke the Sligo defence line to score by the posts with Codyre adding the conversion to leave it 16-7 with ten to play. Sligo then threw everything at Wegians and finally got over under the posts with 3 minutes to play. The try was converted and the match was in for a grandstand finish. Sligo fielded the kick off and carried to Wegians. Galwegians were a match for them in the defence line and forced a turnover at the Sligo 22. Scrumhalf Rory Gaffney kicked the ball out to touch to finish the match and Galwegians had prevailed. They now have qualified for the semi final of the All Ireland Under 17 series and would be keen to emulate the team of 2011 who brought the title back to Galway.

Galwegians: Micheal Prendergast, Mark Trainor, Paul Butler, Ryan Hunt, Cian Healy, Morgan Codyre, Rory Gaffney, Malcolm Hanley (C), Dumitru Ipati, Karl Burke, Shane Casserly, Fearghal Dooley, Darrog Smith, Cian Hornibrook, James Brogan

Subs: Abdul-Haq Abayoni for Feargal Dooley, Cathal de Lamport for Mark Trainor, Jonah Culligan for Micheal Prendergast, David Robb for Shane Casserly




Connacht Emerging Talent squad named for game against Leinster North Midlands