A superb U14 squad retained the U14 league crown with a hard fought victory over perennial rivals Sligo Grammar. A talented squad of players bolstered by nine returning members of last year’s successful winning team were unbeaten in all domestic competition over the season.

Garbally College 20  0  Sligo Grammar    U14 Schools Prem League Final – Ballyhaunis RFC

Garbally U14 564Garbally retained their U14 crown with a hard fought victory in a final played in glorious conditions at Ballyhaunis RFC. Grammar started the brighter but despite good spells of possession they couldn’t convert territory to points. It was Garbally who struck first with a wonderful solo effort from Fullback Niall Collins which was converted by Cian Tracey. Garbally went further ahead with a penalty from Outhalf Tracey (10-0)). Garbally secured their second try just before halftime with their physical winger Sean Horkan crashing through several would be tacklers to touch down. (HT 15-0).

The Garbally boys moved further ahead shortly after the break with man of the match Niall Collins getting on the end of a fluid backline movement (20-0). Despite these setbacks a determined Sligo Grammar side laid siege to the Garbally line. Despite having two players in the sin bin, Garbally were resolute in defence and held out to secure a deserved victory.

Garbally: Seamus Egan, Patrick Grehan, Jack Noone, Mark Mitchell, Cian Silke, Oisin McCormack, Odhran Dooley (Capt), James Carry, Cormac Finn, Matthew Devine, Cian Tracey, Daniel Farrell, Shane Jennings, Sean Horkan, Niall Collins. Reps: Jamie Curley, Dylan Hopkins, John Moore, Fergus Finneran, Luke Corbett, Paraic Galvin, Harry Bleahene, Jason Cunningham.

(Conor Lohan, Andrew Doyle, Eoin Costelloe, Niall Reynolds, Joseph Dowd, Oisin Carroll, Jack Mitchell, Adam Dowd, Kealan Galvin, Josh Naughton, Craig Potter, James Costelloe, John Curley, Andy Naessens, Michael McDermott, Padraig Flanagan and Conal Moore.


The Jes reach last four with last minute winner