Ballinasloe rugby club created a little bit of history with the first woman in the history of the club being formally ratified as its new President for the upcoming season, 2011-2012, at its AGM. A check through the records and it would appear that Ms. Geraldine Kelly is one of only a couple of women in Connacht rugby to be elected to such office. Certainly she is one of the very few to become President of a rugby club in Ireland.

Geraldine has been a loyal servant of Ballinasloe RFC for many seasons and very active in the club’s executive – ” for more years than I care to remember” – as she said in her acceptance speech. She formerly served as treasurer but has been the hon. secretary in later years. She was also the liaison person for a number of schemes in which the club was involved. In addition she has worked closely with the ladies committee in their provision of many an enjoyable hospitality day at Graigueawoneen.

The new President has said that she will endeavour to proceed with the club’s development over the coming season while being fully aware of the budget restraints that will determine all club actions. However, she feels that imaginative budgeting and prudent decision making will still allow for some club advancement in these difficult times.

Married to Michael, they have three grown up sons. Away from rugby and sport as well as her duties at the family printing business, Geraldine is highly involved in the cultural life of Ballinasloe. She has a special interest in floral arrangements and is chairperson of Ballinasloe Flower and Garden Club plus being treasurer of the Gables Art Club. As if all of this wasn’t enough for a busy woman she is also active in the Ballinasloe town twinning committee.


President: Ms Geraldine Kelly. Senior Vice President: Joe Hayes. Junior Vice President: Jackie Treacy. Hon. Sec.: Patricia Tierney. Hon. Treasurer: John Doolan Asst. Treasurer: Alan Wade. PRO and Asst. Sec. Liam Courtney. Senior Reps. to Connacht Branch: Sean Brennan and Padge Finn. Age Grade Rep. Eoghan Courtney. Fixtures Sec.(senior): Liam Loughrey. Trustees: John Glynn, John Flynn and Joe Hayes. Committee: Noel Mannion, Kevin Hogarty, Pauline Treacy, Declan Quinn, Paul Spencer, Michael Devine, Declan Murphy, Pat O’ Sullivan, Tom Horkan and Damian Feeney.

RFC 2000 TICKET DRAW:                                     

First Prize of a E1000 holiday voucher plus E1500 spending money (kindly sponsored by Pearse Keller of Kellers Travel and Campotel,
Ballinasloe) was  Tom Flanagan of Loughrea.

Second Prize: E1000,  Kate Tierney,Ballinasloe.

Third Prize: E500, Ethan Clarke, Ballina.

Four Prizes of E100 each were won by: Ollie Brooks (Dunshaughlin), Deirdre Hughes(Ballinasloe), Liam Carroll(Ballinasloe), Ben Feehily(Ballinasloe) and Alan Naughton(Clontuskert).


Ballinasloe rugby club in conjunction with the Irish Cancer Society’s Relay for Life project will be holding a fundraising day on Saturday August 6th at the club grounds. A day of rugby extravaganza will culminate in a monster BBQ that evening with festivities in the club pavillion.
Teams from U6 upwards through ALL the grades will participate in matches with the final action being a golden oldies fixture. And after all that action it will be a night of song, music and dance in the clubrooms with the BBQ giving it a special summer flavour in more ways than one. All that is needed now is for the weather god to smile benevolently on the proceedings on the day.

Tickets for this gala evening are modestly priced at E10 per person and are being   made available by committee members from now on. The club will appreciate your support for this worthy cause. It should be noted that funds raised through ticket sales will be going to the Irish Cancer Society and not the club.

Liam Courtney



Connacht Emerging Talent squad named for game against Leinster North Midlands