The historic inter-colleges ‘Colours’ fixture between the Galway-Mayo Institute of Technology and the National University of Ireland, Galway took place in the home of Galwegians RFC on Monday.
Students on both sides, hailing from over fifteen different rugby clubs across the country, donned their college’s colours and lined out in Crowley Park, Glenina for the well supported fixture.
Played in glorious weather conditions the day lent itself to a fast and free flowing game and both teams took full advantage of the dry day to play some very attractive rugby.
NUIG kicked the first points of the match and added a first half try but it was GMIT who settled into the game more comfortably finishing the first half 20-10 ahead.
The second half was another high scoring affair with both sides moving the ball around in an end to end contest but it was GMIT who took the title, outscoring NUIG 37-20.
Speaking about the fixture Special Projects Officer for Connacht Rugby, Emer O’Dowd said:
“It’s fantastic to see these two third level institutes competing against each other at this level. The event has been a huge success, bringing Galway’s two major colleges together in a highly competitive yet incredibly friendly fixture and the sizeable crowd were treated to a thoroughly entertaining game of rugby.”
“We’re looking forward to this match becoming a regular annual event and building on the solid foundations laid this year as we look to increase the profile of college’s rugby across the province. Finally I would like to take the opportunity to thank Galwegians RFC for the use of the grounds for the match and also the coaches and referee that helped in facilitating an enjoyable game and experience for the players.”
Headcoach – Ja Naughton
1. Liam mc Mahon (NUIG)
2. Oscar soden (NUIG)
3. James brogan NUIG
4. HP Horea (NUIG)
5. Daniel Regan (Monivea RFC)
6. Arran Elwood (Galwegians)
7. Evan McGloin (Galwegians)
8. Cian Dillion (Galwegians)
9. James Costello (Galwegians)
10. Ryan Guilfoyle (NUIG)
11. Arnaud Requier (NUIG)
12. David O Neil (NUIG)
13. John Kennedy (NUIG)
14. Thomas Duffy (NUIG)
15. Daniel Layden (NUIG)
16. Michael Collum (NUIG)

Headcoach: Doran McHugh
1. Brendan Pepper (Ardee RFC)
2. Tadhg O’Brien (Wexford Wanderers RFC)
3. Abraham Afolabi (Galwegians RFC)
4. Sean Delaney(GMIT RFC)
5. Ciaran Flanagan (GMIT RFC)
6. Tadhg Campbell (Galwegians RFC)
7. Angelo Johnson (Waterpark RFC)
8. Ciaran Cassidy (Sligo RFC)
9. Jack Hurley (Dungarvan RFC)
10. Ross Maxwell (Galwegians RFC)
11. Conor Gavigan(GMIT RFC)
12. Sean Hayes (Galwegians RFC)
13. Matt Quinn (Malahide RFC)
14. Cormac Furey (Galwegians RFC)
15. Dylan Duffy (Galwegians RFC)
16. Baz Van Amsterdam (GMIT RFC)
17. Justin Andrews (Suttonians RFC)
18. Dan Keane(Corinthians RFC)
19. Cian Hornibrook (Galwegians RFC)
20. Joe Lyons (Ballyhaunis RFC)
21. Fergus Killarney (Monivea RFC)
22. Aaron Joyce (Galwegians RFC)
23. Jonathon Roe (Roscrea RFC)
24. Coco Guistou Bock (GMIT RFC)
25. Neil Gunning(Loughrea RFC)
26. Charlie Hague (Portumna RFC)
27. Aidan Bryan (Portarlington RFC)
28. Colin Ledwith (Buccaneers RFC)

For more images from the game click here to visit our gallery.




The Jes reach last four with last minute winner