The Heineken Junior Cup resumes this weekend with 6 teams vying to join Sligo RFC and Galwegians in the draw for the quarter-finals. 

The Connacht Junior Cup is one of the oldest rugby institutions in the province and the continued sponsorship of Heineken remains integral to its growth. This is the 98th running of the tournament that started in 1904. NUIG, who were knocked out in the first round, have won the competition the most times with 13.

Sligo already beat Portumna 38-0 in a doubled up fixture with their league game to book their place in the quarter final draw, while Galwegians beat Tuam 24-0 in a surprisingly one sided game.

Connemara will be looking to make it back to back victories after their victory at J1A leaders Corinthians last Sunday. They host OLBC, who will be looking to replicate the victory they earned in Monastery Field in the league in October, coming out on top in a tight 17-11 victory.

The titans clash in Mayo as Ballina make the short trip to Castlebar on Saturday. The previous meeting between these teams was another tight affair, with visitors Castlebar edging out their county rivals 24-19.

The following weekend, Buccaneers hoping to shock J1A Ballinasloe on Friday night, while Westport host Dunmore in the first meeting between the two teams in a number of years. 2012 finalists Loughrea will be looking to build on their massive 50-0, and shock defending champions J1A Monivea. It will be the first time Loughrea play a team from Monivea this season, with both league fixtures against Monivea 2nds not due until after Christmas.

J1A leaders Corinthians will want to bounce back from their defeat to Connemara last weekend and finish their year in style when they host J1B Creggs. Creggs had a good win over Ballinrobe in the first round, and will want to have a good cup run in the hopes of adding to their promotion push.

2nd Round Fixtures:

Friday 20th December:

Ballinasloe v Buccaneers; 7.30pm

Saturday 21st December:

Connemara v OLBC; 2pm

Sunday 22nd December:

Westport v Dunmore; 2.30pm

Castlebar v Ballina; 2.30pm

Loughrea v Monivea; 2.30pm

Corinthians v Creggs; 2.30pm


Energia All-Ireland League Round-Up: Buccaneers stay atop Division 1B, Sligo & Corinthians win