Connacht’s Robbie Henshaw will earn his second international start and fourth cap when he lines out against South Africa at the Aviva Stadium on Saturday (kick off 5:30pm). Head Coach Joe Schmidt has selected the 21-year-old Athlone man at inside centre with Jared Payne from Ulster debuting outside him.

Meanwhile, Connacht prop Rodney Ah You has been included amongst the replacements and is in line to make his second appearance in an Ireland jersey this year following his debut against Argentina in June.

Speaking at the team announcement at Carton House today and his selection of the new centre partnership, Schmidt said:

“It started last week in training. We think Robbie is a good centre and his flexibility to play 12 or 13 is similar to Jared but that’s the way they trained last week so we kept that continuity.

On Ah You, the Head Coach added:

“Rodney has scrummaged really well. He did a really good job against Ospreys last week and likewise against Glasgow.

“He’s fully fit as well and has a couple of more minutes than Stephen Archer. We’ve got to go with what we think is the fittest team available who we think will cope with what we’ll be a very difficult test.”

IRELAND v South Africa, Saturday 8th November 2014, 17:30, Aviva Stadium

15. Rob Kearney (UCD/Leinster) 55
14. Tommy Bowe (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster) 54
13. Jared Payne (Ulster) *
12. Robbie Henshaw (Buccaneers/Connacht) 3
11. Simon Zebo (Cork Constitution/Munster) 8
10. Johnny Sexton (Racing Metro) 45
9. Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster) 28

8. Jamie Heaslip (Naas/Leinster) 67
7. Chris Henry (Malone/Ulster) 16
6. Peter O’Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster) 23
5. Paul O’Connell (Young Munster/Munster) 94 CAPTAIN
4. Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster) 17
3. Mike Ross (Clontarf/Leinster) 41
2. Sean Cronin (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 35
1. Jack McGrath (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 10


16. Richardt Strauss (Old Wesley/Leinster) 4
17. Dave Kilcoyne (UL Bohemians/Munster) 10
18. Rodney Ah You (Corinthians/Connacht) 1
19. Mike McCarthy (Lansdowne/Leinster) 15
20. Rhys Ruddock (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 3
21. Eoin Reddan (Lansdowne/Leinster) 55
22. Ian Madigan (Blackrock/Leinster) 10
23. Felix Jones (Shannon/Munster) 6

*Denotes uncapped player


Gallery: Connacht v Benetton