The Connacht team to face Edinburgh in Friday’s RaboDirect PRO12 clash at Murrayfield (KO: 7:45pm) has been named.

Head Coach Pat Lam has made six changes to the team that lined out against Scarlets last weekend.

Irish international Robbie Henshaw returns to the mix and starts at full back against the Scottish side. Henshaw is joined in the back three with Connacht’s record try scorer Fionn Carr and last week’s try scorer Matt Healy. Former Scottish international Dan Parks has been named at outhalf.

Up front, Ronan Loughney starts at loosehead in place of the injured Brett Wilkinson. Mick Kearney has been handed his first start of the season after coming off the bench in the last two PRO12 games. At 6’5”, the 22-year-old joins skipper Craig Clarke in the second row.

Eoin McKeon returns to the side after missing three months due to injury. The back rower, who played 80 minutes for club side Buccaneers last weekend, starts at Number 8.

Prop Denis Buckley is named on the replacements bench which also includes forward John Muldoon on his return from injury. Scrumhalf Frank Murphy, who played his first minutes of senior rugby in over a year last weekend, is also included.

Commenting on the team selection and the upcoming game Head Coach Pat Lam said:

“We know winning at this level comes down to fine margins which has been frustrating for all of us so far this season. But we are determined to capitalise on every opportunity we create to give us a chance of a much needed win here.

“We face another challenge away from home tomorrow. This season Edinburgh have proven a strong side who are tough to beat at home. They’ve won their last three games at Murrayfield, including an excellent Heineken Cup win over Munster.

 “Our squad has been boosted by the return of Robbie (Henshaw) and Eoin (McKeon) while John (Muldoon) passed a late fitness test which sees him named on the bench. We need to deliver a performance that gives us every chance of getting the result.”


Connacht line-up v Edinburgh

15.          Robbie Henshaw
14.          Fionn Carr
13.          Eoin Griffin
12.          Dave McSharry
11.          Matt Healy
10.          Dan Parks
9.            Kieran Marmion

1.            Ronan Loughney
2.            Sean Henry
3.            Nathan White
4.            Mick Kearney
5.            Craig Clarke (captain)
6.            Aly Muldowney
7.            Jake Heenan
8.            Eoin McKeon


16. Jason Harris-Wright
17. Denis Buckley
18. Rodney Ah You
19. Michael Swift
20. John Muldoon
21. Frank Murphy
22. Craig Ronaldson
23. Gavin Duffy

Unavailable/Injured:  Mata Fifita, Willie Faloon, Miah Nikora, Danie Poolman, Kyle Tonetti, and Brett Wilkinson


4 Connacht Academy players named in Irish U20 squad to face Wales