Connacht’s Robbie Henshaw has been named amongst the replacements for Ireland’s game against Australia in the Avivia Stadium this Saturday (kick off 17:45). The 20-year-old Athlone-man earned his first international cap during the Summer Tour of North America in June, starting against the Untied States and going on to play against Canada.

Paul O’Connell will lead the side as the new Irish captain and starts in the second row.

O’Connell is joined in the engine room by Devin Toner with Cian Healy introduced to the front row.  Sean O’Brien starts at openside in the absence of the injured Chris Henry.

Brian O’Driscoll earns his 127th cap since his Test debut against Australia in 1999 and will be partnered in midfield by Luke Marshall.  Johnny Sexton returns to the out-half berth and is reunited with his former provincial half-back partner Eoin Reddan.

There are 10 2013 British and Irish Lions involved in the match day squad: Rob Kearney, Tommy Bowe, Brian O’Driscoll, Johnny Sexton, Conor Murray, Jamie Heaslip, Sean O’ Brien, Paul O’Connell, Rory Best and Cian Healy.  11 of the Ireland XV started in the RWC 2011 victory over Australia in Eden Park, New Zealand.

Highlights from today’s press conference can be viewed on IrishRugbyTV.

IRELAND Team & Replacements v Australia (Guinness Series &Lansdowne Cup,  Aviva Stadium, Dublin, Saturday, November 16th, kick-off 17.45 GMT)


15. Rob Kearney (UCD/Leinster) 47
14. Tommy Bowe (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster) 52
13. Brian O’Driscoll (UCD/Leinster) 126
12. Luke Marshall (Ballinahinch/Ulster) 3
11. Fergus McFadden (Old Belvedere/Leinster) 20
10. Johnny Sexton (Racing Metro) 36
9. Eoin Reddan (Lansdowne/Leinster) 51
1. Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster) 40
2. Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster) 68
3. Mike Ross (Clontarf/Leinster) 32
4. Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster) 8
5. Paul O’Connell (Young Munster/Munster) 86 Capt.
6. Peter O’Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster) 17
7. Sean O’Brien (UCD/Leinster) 28
8. Jamie Heaslip (Dublin University/Leinster) 58


16. Sean Cronin (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 28
17. Jack McGrath (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 1
18. Stephen Archer (Cork Constitution/Munster) 1
19. Mike McCarthy (Leinster) 13
20. Kevin McLaughlin (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 6
21. Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster) 20
22. Ian Madigan (Blackrock College/Leinster) 5
23. Robbie Henshaw (Buccaneers/Connacht) 2


Finlay Bealham: Striving for more