Connacht back Robbie Henshaw has been included in the 34-man Ireland Squad for the forthcoming Guinness Series against Samoa, Australia and New Zealand in the Aviva Stadium this November

20-year-old Henshaw earned his first international cap during the Summer Tour of North America, starting against the Untied States and going on to play against Canada.

The three test schedule starts with Samoa on Saturday 9 November at 5.45 p.m., followed by Australia on Saturday 16 November, again at 5.45 p.m. before the finale against World Champions New Zealand on Sunday 24 November at 2 p.m.

The make-up of the squad is consistent with recent years.  The sole exile included is British and Irish Lions outhalf Johnny Sexton.

Those unavailable through injury, including Stephen Ferris, Richardt Strauss, Tommy O’Donnell, Jordi Murphy and Simon Zebo have unfortunately been added to over the weekend with Donnacha Ryan (knee) and Iain Henderson (toe) also ruled out.

Ireland Head Coach, Joe Schmidt, commented:

“The squad combines players who have shown form in the domestic season mixed with those who have a proven record at international level.

As always there were some very difficult decisions. Some players have had limited opportunity to impress due to injury and others have performed very well and it was difficult to leave them out.

The Guinness Series will demand plenty from the squad and I know they’ll be motivated by the challenge.”


IRELAND Guinness Series Squad:


Isaac Boss (Terenure College/Leinster)

Tommy Bowe (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)

Gordon D’Arcy (Lansdowne/Leinster)

Keith Earls (Young Munster/Munster)

Robbie Henshaw (Buccaneers/Connacht)

Paddy Jackson (Dungannon/Ulster)

David Kearney (Lansdowne/Leinster)*

Rob Kearney (UCD/Leinster)

Ian Madigan (Blackrock College/Leinster)

Luke Marshall (Ballymena/Ulster)

Fergus McFadden (Old Belvedere/Leinster)

Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster)

Brian O’Driscoll (UCD/Leinster)

Eoin Reddan (Lansdowne/Leinster)

Jonathan Sexton (Racing Metro 92)



Stephen Archer (Cork Constitution/Munster)

Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster)

James Coughlan (Dolphin/Munster)*

Tom Court (Ulster)

Sean Cronin (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)

Declan Fitzpatrick (Dungannon/Ulster)

Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster)

Jamie Heaslip (Dublin University/Leinster)

Chris Henry (Malone/Ulster)

Mike McCarthy (Leinster)

Jack McGrath (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)*

Kevin McLaughlin (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)

Sean O’Brien (UCD/Leinster)

Paul O’Connell (Young Munster/Munster)

Peter O’Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster)

Mike Ross (Clontarf/Leinster)

Mike Sherry (Garryowen/Munster)

Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster)

Dan Tuohy (Ballymena/Ulster)

*denotes uncapped player



2013 Guinness Series Kick-off Times


Ireland v Samoa

Saturday, 9th November

K.O. 17.45


Ireland v Australia

Saturday, 16th November

K.O. 17.45


Ireland v New Zealand

Sunday, 24th November

K.O. 14.00


Gallery: Connacht v Benetton