The Ireland Women’s side, sponsored by Aon has been named to face England this Saturday. The game will take place in Twickenham at 7.15pm, following the men’s fixture.

Head Coach Tom Tierney has made some changes to the side that lost to France in Perpignan.

In the pack, Ciara Griffin, who won her second cap against the French is handed her first Six Nations start at flanker. This change sees Paula Fitzpatrick shift to Number 8 and Heather O’Brien move to the replacements.

In the backs, there is a straight swap at out-half where the experienced Nora Stapleton comes in for Nikki Caughey who moves to the substitutes.

Prop Fiona Hayes, who was last involved in Ireland’s final game of the 2015 Six Nations comes onto the replacements bench.

Tierney is looking forward to the challenge that awaits his team in Twickenham;

“While the result in France didn’t go our way, I thought there were a lot of positives to take from that game and we will be looking to carry them this fixture. We made too many unforced errors in Perpignan, so if we can rectify that I think we have got a very good chance on Saturday.

Twickenham is a special place to play, so it will be a great experience for the girls, but it is important that we go there looking to perform and hopefully come away with a result”

The game will be streamed live on YouTube via England Rugby at

Ireland Women v England Women,
Twickenham, Saturday 27th February, 7.15pm

15. Niamh Briggs (UL. Bohemians / Munster) Captain
14. Elise O’Byrne-White (Old Belvedere / Leinster)
13. Aine Donnelly (Cill Dara / Leinster)
12. Sene Naoupu (Galwegians / Connacht)
11. Mairead Coyne (Galwegians / Connacht)
10. Nora Stapleton (Old Belvedere / Leinster)
9. Larissa Muldoon (Skewen)
1. Ruth O’Reilly (Galwegians / Connacht)
2. Cliodhna Moloney (Railway Union / Leinster)
3. Ailis Egan (Old Belvedere / Leinster)
4. Sophie Spence (Old Belvedere / Leinster)
5. Marie-Louise Reilly (Old Belvedere / Leinster)
6. Ciara Griffin (Tralee / Munster)
7. Claire Molloy (Bristol)
8. Paula Fitzpatrick (Toulouse)

16. Zoe Grattage (Tralee / Munster)
17. Fiona Hayes (UL Bohemians / Munster)
18. Fiona Reidy (UL Bohemians / Munster)
19. Ciara Cooney (Railway Union / Leinster)
20. Heather O’Brien (Toulouse)
21. Mary Healy (Galwegians / Connacht)
22. Nikki Caughey (Railway Union / Ulster)
23. Jackie Shiels (Richmond)


REPRO FREE***PRESS RELEASE NO REPRODUCTION FEE*** 2016 Women's Six Nations Championship Launch, The Hurlingham Club, Ranelagh Gardens, London 27/1/2016 Pictured (L-R) Italy womenÕs captain Sara Barattin, Wales womenÕs captain Rachel Taylor, Ireland womenÕs captain Niamh Briggs, England womenÕs captain Sarah Hunter, France womenÕs captain Gaelle Mignot and Scotland womenÕs captain Lisa Martin at the launch of the 2016 RBS 6 Nations Championship at The Hurlingham Club in London today. Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/Billy Stickland


Jordan Conroy named in Ireland Men’s 7s squad for Rugby Europe Sevens Grand Prix Series