The Ireland Women’s team to play France in the first home game of the Women’s RBS 6 Nations Championship has been named. Head coach Philip Doyle has named an unchanged side for Friday’s match.
Speaking ahead of the game, Philip Doyle said: “We have a brand new squad this season and we capped a lot of new players last weekend. We have a very short turnaround time this week and we felt the need for continuity and to bed in the combinations.

“The French are a big challenge and it will be a stern test for some of the new girls, but we are looking forward to playing in Ashbourne as we have been getting great support there in recent seasons.”

Ireland will again play their home games at Ashbourne RFC during this year’s Championship. They have attracted big crowds to the ground in recent seasons and are hoping to build on that over the coming weeks.

Supporters can avail of a special bus from Dublin to Ashbourne on Friday night – click here for more.

IRELAND WOMEN’S Team & Replacements (v France Women, 2011 RBS 6 Nations Championship, Ashbourne RFC, Friday, February 11, kick-off 7.30pm):

15. Niamh Briggs (UL Bohemians/Munster)
14. Niamh Kavanagh (UL Bohemians/Munster)
13. Lynne Cantwell (Richmond/Exile)
12. Geraldine Rea (Highfield/Munster)
11. Mairead Kelly (UL Bohemians/Munster)
10. Nora Stapleton (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
9. Amy Davis (Blackrock/Leinster)
1. Fiona Coghlan (UL Bohemians/Leinster) (capt)
2. Gillian Bourke (Bristol/Munster)
3. Lauren Day (Waterloo/Ulster)
4. Marie Louise Reilly (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
5. Laura Guest (Highfield/Munster)
6. Carol Staunton (Galwegians/Connacht)
7. Claire Molloy (Bristol/Connacht)
8. Joy Neville (UL Bohemians/Munster)


16. Stacey Kennedy (City of Derry/Ulster)
17. Emer McManamly (Blackrock/Leinster)
18. Deirdre O’Brien (Blackrock/Leinster)
19. Heather O’Brien (Highfield/Munster)
20. Larissa Muldoon (UWIC/Exile)
21. Gill Nolan (St. Mary’s/Leinster)
22. Jackie Shiels (Richmond/Leinster)


Connacht Emerging Talent squad named for game against Leinster North Midlands