An extended training squad of 24 players has been announced for the Ireland Girls Sevens side that will participate in the UK School Games and FIRA Under-18 Tournament in September. The squad was selected following an extensive screening process involving 200 girls in all four provinces that also included an opportunity for the attendees to learn new skills. Six of the current squad were in the side that finished fourth in the UK School Games last year – Erin Caughey, Meabh Donohue, Irene Herlihy, Mairead Hopkins, Shannen Lane and Jayne Pennefeather. Amee-Leigh Murphy Crowe, who was also part of that squad, was subsequently selected in the Ireland Women’s Sevens squad for the IRB Women’s Sevens World Series this season.

IRELAND UNDER-18 GIRLS SEVENS Training Squad: Chloe Aherne (Munster) Chloe Blackmore (Carrick on Suir/Munster) Erin Caughey (Malone/Ulster) Eimear Corri (Portlaoise/Leinster) Kathryn Dane (Enniskillen/Ulster) Meabh Donohue (Tullow/Leinster) Kate English (Carrick-on-Suir/Munster) Stacey Flood (Railway Union/Leinster) Marie Hanrahan (Malone/Ulster) Irene Herlihy (Mallow/Munster) Kayleigh Hopkins (Ballina/Connacht) Mairead Hopkins (Ballina/Connacht) Jessica Hunt (Wicklow/Leinster) Meaghan Kenny (Navan/Leinster) Shannen Lane (Cavan/Ulster) Zoe Lynch (Carrick-on-Suir/Munster) Molly McCabe (Westmanstown/Leinster) Hannagh McKay (Railway Union/Leinster) Meabh O’Brien (Naas/Leinster) Elsie O’Connor (Rockwell College/Munster) Aisling O’Hagan (Thurles/Munster) Yvonne O’Shead (Bantry Bay/Munster) Jayne Pennefeather (Carrigaline/Munster) Louise Scally (Cill Dara/Leinster)


Connacht Emerging Talent squad named for game against Leinster North Midlands