John Carr has been elected as President of the Connacht Branch for the 2011/2012 season.

JohnCarr350He becomes the 55th President of the organisation that was founded in 1885. Richard Biggs of Galway Grammar School was the first President of the Connacht Branch back in 1885 when there were just 6 clubs to oversee. The role now encompasses 22 adult clubs, 6 youth/mini clubs, the Senior Professional team and representative teams at U18 (Youths & Schools), U19, U20 and Junior level.

John, who is a former Tuam RFC President and still actively involved in the club, carries on the ambassadorial role from Galwegians FC’s Jim Foy who oversaw the 125th anniversary of Connacht Rugby this season.

“I’m absolutely delighted to be elected as President. It (the Presidency) is an important function within the Provincial structure and I am looking forward to the challenges that lie ahead. Last season was a very successful one for Connacht Rugby on all fronts. The Senior team did exceptionally well in the Magners League as well as gaining qualification to the Heineken Cup, our Junior team won the Inter-Provincial title for the first time in their history, a 5th Connacht club (Sligo RFC) made it into the All Ireland League and Connacht clubs won All Ireland Championships at U17 and U19 so there’s a huge amount to be positive about as we head into next season and it is the challenge of building on these success that I am most looking forward to.”


Gallery: University of Galway hosts Kay Bowen Cup