Jordan Conroy of Buccaneers RFC has been named in the 13-man Ireland squad for the opening round of the Rugby Europe Sevens Grand Prix Series this weekend.

Ireland were the winners of the event in Moscow last season, and finished second on the overall Grand Prix Series.

The matches will be available to view on the Rugby Europe live stream

Their second-place finish gained them a spot at the World Series Qualifier in Hong Kong, which was held in April this year. Ireland narrowly lost out to eventual tournament winners Japan in the Semi-Final.

The Grand Prix Series will again serve as the entry route to next year’s World Series Qualifier. Ireland are drawn in Pool B for Moscow, along with Germany, Portugal and Poland.

After Moscow, Ireland will compete at the World Sevens Series events in London (2nd & 3rd June) and Paris (9th & 10th June) as the invitational side – more information here:

They then travel to Marcoussis in France for the second round of the Rugby Europe Grand Prix Series (30th June and 1st July) and the following week they compete at the third round in Exeter (7th & 8th July).

The Men’s and Women’s 7s side will both compete at the World Rugby Sevens Rugby World Cup in San Francisco over the weekend of the 20/21/22 July at the AT&T Stadium – tickets available here:

The final round of the Rugby Europe Grand Prix takes place in Poland on the 8th & 9th September.

IRELAND MEN’S SEVENS Squad (2018 Rugby Europe Sevens Grand Prix Series – Round 1, Oktyabr Stadium, Moscow, Russia, Saturday, May 19-Sunday, May 20):

Robert Balacoune (Enniskillen RFC/Ulster)
Jordan Conroy (Buccaneers RFC)
Sean Cribbin (Suttonians RFC)
Shane Daly (Cork Constitution FC/Munster)
Billy Dardis (UCD RFC) Captain
Ian Fitzpatrick (Lansdowne FC/Leinster)
Hugo Keenan (UCD RFC/Leinster)
Terry Kennedy (St. Mary’s College RFC/Leinster)
Harry McNulty (UCD RFC)
Bryan Mollen (Dublin University FC)
John O’Donnell (Lansdowne FC)
Greg O’Shea (Shannon RFC)
Mark Roche (Blackrock College RFC)


Moscow 7s – Pool B:

Saturday, May 19:

Ireland v Poland – 10.44am local time/8.44am Irish time
Ireland v Portugal – 1.29pm local time/11.29am Irish time
Ireland v Germany, 4.36pm local time/2.36pm Irish time


11 Connacht players selected on underage Irish squads