Talented Trinity winger Niyi Adeolokun has signed a one-year contract with Connacht Rugby and the IRFU for the coming season.

The latest deal completes the 41-man senior Connacht squad for 2014/15.

23-year-old Adeolokun, from Dublin, has played his club rugby with Dublin University FC since 2009. He played GAA, soccer and rugby at De La Salle secondary school in Churchtown, but honed his rugby skills under Trinity Director of Rugby Tony Smeeth.

Niyi was also very influential in the Dublin University Sevens team that won back to back All Ireland Championships in 2011 and 2012.

Having recently completed his final exams at Trinity College, Niyi will report to the Sportsground later this week for fitness testing with the rest of the Connacht squad.

Speaking from Galway, Head Coach Pat Lam said:

“We’re delighted to be able to give Niyi this opportunity. He was initially brought to our attention by Nigel Carolan last April when he started on the wing for the Eagles. He is clearly a brilliant broken-field runner with very good pace but we were also very impressed with what he offers in defence. With his raw talent and athleticism, we’re looking forward to seeing how he performs in a professional set up for the first time.

 “When meeting with Niyi, I was struck by his maturity and also his unwavering determination to succeed after having overcome many challenges along the way. He is a good young man with excellent values and I know he will fit in very well to our team environment.”

Tony Smeeth, Director of Rugby, DUFC added:

“I’m absolutely delighted for Niyi. He is a hard worker with a special talent and he deserves this opportunity. His rate of development was hugely impressive these past few years with Trinity but I know Connacht is the perfect place for him to step up that development even further.

“Training with professionals full time and being around players like Mils Muliaina will be huge for him.”

Niyi Adeolukan 18/11/2011


Connacht Rugby Squad 2014/15


Ronan Loughney, Denis Buckley, Rodney Ah You,  Nathan White, JP Cooney, Finlay Bealham


Jason Harris-Wright, Dave Heffernan, Sean Henry, Tom McCartney

Second Rows:

Mick Kearney, Aly Muldowney, Michael Swift, Danny Qualter, Quinn Roux

Back Rowers:

Andrew Browne, Mata Fifita, Jake Heenan, Willie Faloon, Eoin McKeon, John Muldoon,  George Naoupu


Kieran Marmion, Ian Porter, John Cooney


Miah Nikora, Craig Ronaldson, Jack Carty


Robbie Henshaw, Dave McSharry,  Conor Finn, Bundee Aki, Shane O’Leary


Fionn Carr, Matt Healy, Tiernan O’Halloran, Danie Poolman, Niyi Adeolokun


Mils Muliaina, Darragh Leader, Shane Layden


The Connacht Academy for 2014/15 will be confirmed in the coming weeks.




Eoin De Buitléar signs first Professional contract with Connacht Rugby