Marist College retain the Connacht Schools Senior Cup

After a dramatic final held in glorious conditions in the Sportsground on Wednesday, Marist College Athlone beat Garbally College Ballinasloe 23-11 to retain the Connacht Schools Senior Cup.

Harry Hughes350Marist enjoyed plenty of early possession and after a sustained attack were rewarded with a penalty after 13 minutes when Garbally had a man sent to the sin-bin. Barry Goode kicked Marist into an early lead and when Harry Hughes raced in for the first try of the match, Goode duly added the extra to stretch the lead to 10-0. Goode added a second penalty with minutes left in the half to leave the score at the break 13-0 to Marist.

Garbally started the better of the two side after the break and were rewarded for their efforts when scrumhalf Sean Horan kicked a penalty to get them on the scoreboard. Both teams traded penalties in the early stages of the second half as both teams played an expansive and open game. 20 minutes in, Marist College had a player sent to the sin-bin for a jersey tug and Garbally, enjoying the lions share of possession, kept the foot on the gas. Jack Codyre Try350Three minutes later they crashed over the Marist try-line bringing the game to 16-11 with ten minutes to go.

Marist’s response was immediate and ruthless as fullback Eoghan O’Reilly rounded the Garbally defence only to be brought down yards from the line. His pass out of the tackle found Robbie McMicken whose score under the posts, converted by Goode, put the game beyond reach and the final score remained Marist College 23 – Garbally College 11

Marist College:

Eoghan O’Reilly, Harry Hughes, Sean Dempsey, Cormac Langdon, Robbie McMicken, Barry Goode, Robert Ashe (C), John Gormley, Conor McGrath, John O’Meara, Conall O’Brien, James Flynn, Cian White, Brian Cooper, Evan Galvin – Replacements: Mattie Galvin, Charlie McMicken, Conor Morrissey, Ross Flanagan, Saba Meunargia, Thomas Finucane, Cillene Walshe, Ben Kennedy

Garbally College:

Andrew Mannion, Ronan Kelly, Conor Barrett, Ian Duffy, Stephen Tierney, Simon Keller, Sean Horan, Danny Walshe, Philip Gilsenon, Darren O’Hara, Peter Claffey, Sam Holland, Dylan Connolly, Daren Curley, Jack Codyre (C) – Replacements: Ryan Glennon, Kevin Flynn, Ben Wilmore, Stephen Lyons, Cian Dooley, Robbie Kelly, Conor Noone, Anthony Curley

To view the full image gallery and to purchase prints please click



The Jes reach last four with last minute winner