Connacht 7’s Head Coach Conor McPhillips has announced a 12-man squad for this weekend’s Limerick World Club 7 tournament in Thomond Park.

The squad features a mixture of senior, academy and sub-academy players while Ireland Men’s sevens’ player Shane Layden, who was part of the team to recently qualify for next year’s World Rugby Olympic Repechage, will captain the Connacht side.

Senior players Fionn Carr, Danny Qualter, Caolin Blade, Ian Porter and Shane O’Leary all feature while there are five players from the Academy ranks named. Limerick born back Ed O’Keefe has been called up from the Connacht sub Academy.

  • Shane Layden (Captain)
  • Peter Robb
  • Danny Qualter
  • Caolin Blade
  • Ciaran Gaffney
  • Ed O’Keeffe
  • Fionn Carr
  • James Connolly
  • Conor Lowndes
  • Ian Porter
  • Cormac Brennan
  • Shane O’Leary

Connacht are in pool C and will face Ulster, Beunos Aires and South African side Golden Lions on Friday, with the play-off stages taking place on Saturday. The full match schedule can be found here.

Commenting on the squad selection and the upcoming tournament, coach Conor McPhillips said:

“As a group we’ve only come togeher  this week to prepare for the tournament but the players have been really focused and switched on in terms of adapting to the seven’s game  in a short space of time.

“It’s been fantastic to have the experience of Shane (Layden) in the group and his leadership and understanding of the game will be invaluable.

“It’s our first year in the competition but we see it as a great opportunity for players to showcase what they can do to the Pro coaches and push for selection in the Guinness Pro12. We could have up to six games over two days and up against top teams from around the world so we’re really looking forward to it.”

Tickets for the Limerick World Club 7’s are available to buy online here.  Friday tickets include the Munster v Connacht pre-season game on Friday night at 7:45pm.



GALLERY: Training ahead of Munster clash