Ireland Team to Play USA in Opening game of IRB Women’s Rugby Cup.

The Ireland team to play the United States of America in the opening Pool B game in the IRB Women’s Rugby World Cup has been named.

Head coach, Philip Doyle, has named an experienced side.  An impressive fourteen out of the starting fifteen have a grand slam medal, including Connacht players Alison Miller and Claire Molloy.

Niamh Briggs is named at full back with Ashleigh Baxter and Miller completing the back three combination.

In the centre, Lynne Cantwell is partnered by Grace Davitt with Nora Stapleton and Tania Rosser taking the half back positions.

Captain, Fiona Coghlan is joined in the front row by Ailis Egan and Gillian Bourke. Marie Louise Reilly is joined by Sophie Spence in the second row with Siobhan Flemming and Molloy joining Heather O’Brien in the back row.

Speaking of his selection, Doyle said “The team selection was a difficult one, we are in a very lucky position of having a strong squad to pick from.”

“The atmosphere has been building up in camp all week and it’s time to go, the players can’t wait to get out on the pitch and get the campaign started.”

This game will be televised live on TG4

Ireland Women’s Team (to play USA, IRB Women’s Rugby World Cup, Marcoussis, Paris –  Friday 1st August, 17.00 local, 16.00 Irl)

15. Niamh Briggs (UL Bohemians/Munster)

14. Ashleigh Baxter (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)

13. Lynne Cantwell (Richmond RFC/Exile)

12. Grace Davitt (Cooke/Ulster)

11. Alison Miller (Portlaoise/Connacht)

10. Nora Stapleton (Old Belvedere/Leinster)

9. Tania Rosser (Blackrock/Leinster)


1. Fiona Coghlan (UL Bohemians/Leinster)

2. Gillian Bourke (UL Bohemians/Munster)

3. Ailis Egan (Old Belvedere/Leinster)

4. Sophie Spence (Old Belvedere/Leinster)

5. Marie Louise Reilly (Old Belvedere/Leinster)

6. Siobhan Fleming (Tralee/Munster)

7. Claire Molloy (Bristol/Connacht)

8. Heather O’Brien (Highfield RFC/Munster)



16. Sharon Lynch (Old Belvedere/Leinster)

17. Fiona Hayes (UL Bohemians/Munster)

18. Laura Guest (Highfield/Munster)

19. Paula Fitzpatrick (St Mary’s College/Leinster)

20. Larissa Muldoon (Bristol/Exile)

21. Jenny Murphy (Old Belvedere/Leinster)

22. Jackie Shiels (Richmond RFC/Exile)




Friday, August 1

IRELAND v USA, Marcoussis pitch 2, 5pm local time/4pm Irish time

Tuesday, August 5

New Zealand v IRELAND, Marcoussis pitch 1, 6pm local time/5pm Irish time

Saturday, August 9

IRELAND v Kazakhstan, Marcoussis pitch 2, 1pm local time/12pm Irish time


Fastway deliver for Connacht Rugby as Official Delivery Partner