The story of Connacht Rugby is one that dates back to 1885 when six small fledgling clubs met to form the Connacht Branch of the IRFU and with it the Connacht Senior Provincial Team. Their ambition was to grow the game of Rugby in Connacht and to provide a platform for our best talent to shine at provincial and ultimately international level. Since then little has changed in terms of the aim of everyone involved in rugby in Connacht, only the rugby landscape itself has changed.

Connacht Rugby is an organisation with a clear purpose to inspire our community through rugby success. We are one of four professional rugby teams in Ireland and we are also responsible for administrating the game of rugby at grassroots level throughout the counties of Galway, Mayo, Leitrim, Roscommon and Sligo.

The Connacht Eagles are our ‘A’ side, competing in the Celtic Cup against the other provinces and the four Welsh regions. That side is made up of Professional, Development, Academy and Club players.

Both teams play their home games at the Sportsground in Galway, which can normally hold up to 8,129 spectators.

  • Established: 1885
  • Chief Executive Officer: Willie Ruane
  • Club President: Padraig Moran
  • Location: Galway, Ireland
  • Venue: The Sportsground (capacity 8,129)
Honours: Guinness PRO12 Champions 2015/16