The Mr Boots Award for the 2013-14 season was awarded to Mick Grealish, a past president of the Connacht branch, by the IRFU for his contribution to Junior Irish Rugby. The award has been in existence since 1981 and has been awarded to some key figures in Irish rugby all across the country, starting with Dick Smith of Thomond as its first recipient.  

The award was introduced after the retirement of the great Willie John McBride back in 1980. One of his last games was against Arklow RFC and afterwards he presented his boots as a memento hence the wording of the prestigious annual IRFU award.

Mr. Grealish is the first Connacht recipent of the award since incoming Connacht branch president Adrian Leddy won the award.

Pictures copyright Jonathan Curran.

Mr Boots 1 Mr Boots 2
Mr Boots 3 Mr Boots 4


Gallery: University of Galway hosts Kay Bowen Cup