Munster Schools 36  –  Connacht Schools  12

Last Saturday in Dooradoyle on a day made for open running rugby, Munster schools scored a comprehensive victory over a Connacht side who struggled to come to terms with the forward dominance and the pace and power of a Munster team who  continually kept Connacht on the back foot.  Munster lead by 17-0 at half time, and two further tries after the restart, had Connacht staring into the abyss. To their credit, the visitors despite losing a number of players to injury, continued to battle and restored some pride by scoring two tries to leave the final score at 36-12 to Munster.

Connacht: Sean Horan (Garbally College Ballinasloe); Jack Keegan (Summerhill College Sligo), Ruairi Green (St. Pauls Oughterard), Tim Costigan (Glenstal Abbey School), Patrick Daly (Ballinrobe Community School); Charlie McMicken (Marist College Athlone), Stephen Kerins (Summerhill College Sligo); Conan O’Donnell (Summerhill College Sligo), Niall Higgins (Garbally College Ballinasloe), Conor Kenny (Garbally College Ballinasloe); Peter Claffey (Garbally College Ballinasloe), Dan Trayers (Cistercian College Roscrea); Aaron Wootton (St. Gerald’s College Castlebar), Eoghan Maher (Athenry Vocational School), Matthew Cosgrove (Captain) (Sligo Grammar).

Replacements: Michael O’Connell (St. Edna’s College Galway), Joe Ugbo (Yeats College Galway), Eoghan Slevin (Athlone Community College), Sam Holland (Garbally College Ballinasloe), Dylan Connolly (Garbally College Ballinasloe), Tom McHale (Rice College Westport), Evan McGrath (Abbey CC Sligo), Paddy Griffin (Calasanctius Oranmore).

Munster: Alan McMahon (Rockwell College); Calvin Nash (Crescent College Comp.), Paul Kiernan (Captain) (PBC), Dave O’Mahony (Ard Scoil Rís), Willie Coffey (Rockwell College); Bill Johnston (Rockwell College), John Poland (PBC); Joe Ring (PBC), Shane Fenton (Ard Scoil Rís), Greg Roche (CBC); Cian Barry (CBC), Sean O’Connor (Rockwell College); Ronan Murphy (Castletroy College), Sean Fitzgerald (Crescent College Comp.), Kelvin Browne (Ard Scoil Rís).

Replacements: Vincent O’Brien (CBC), Peter Meyer (St. Munchin’s College), Shane O’Hanlon (CBC), Evan Mintern (CBC), Tommy Anglim (Rockwell College), Rory Cunningham (Castletroy College), Michael Clune (CBC), Gary O’Sullivan (Crescent College).

Official Sponsor of Connacht Age Grade Rugby

NUI Galway BrandMark B Col-350


U18 and U19 matchday squads named for Interpro openers vs Ulster