Munster U18 22  – Connacht U18  17

Last Saturday in Waterpark RFC Connacht were in a generous mood as from the kick off they allowed Munster winger Brian Fanning to cross for the opening try which was converted by Paul O’Keeffe to give Munster an early 7-0 advantage. Connacht regrouped and responded when No 8 Matthew Cosgrove crashed over for a try, converted by out-half Simon Keller to restore parity. On the restart Connacht gathered, but a wild pass gifted another try to full back Joe White to give Munster a 12-7 lead on just 6 minutes. After this frantic start Munster shaded both possession and territory and were rewarded with a penalty that was converted by Paul O’Keeffe, to give Munster a 15-7 half time advantage.

On the restart Munster exerted the early pressure but the Connacht defence stood firm and prevented Munster from extending their lead. Connacht then set up a great try when No 8 Matthew Cosgrove broke near half way and drew the defence to set Paddy Daly into space to allow him score under the posts and bring Connacht to within one point at 15-14. On the restart Connacht drove deep into Munster territory but a turnover killed their momentum and allowed Munster respond with the match winning score. Good ruck ball was quickly moved wide to allow winger Brian Fanning evade a number of defenders and then saunter in under the posts for a simple conversion to put Munster firmly in command at 22-14. With time running out Connacht did all they could to salvage the match, and were rewarded with a losing bonus point when Keller converted a penalty to leave the final score at 22-17 to Munster.

In the other match played last Saturday Leinster beat Ulster by 43 points to 3 and will come to Connacht in confident mood of retaining the inter-pro title when they play Connacht on Saturday 12th Oct in the Sportsground at 1:00pm.


Tom McHale (Westport), Patrick Daly (Ballinrobe),  Ruairi Greene (Galway Corinthians), Tom Dawson (Westport), Paddy Griffin (Galway Corinthians), Simon Keller (Ballinasloe) Stephen Kerins       (Sligo), Eoghan Slevin (Buccaneers), Michael O’Connell (Galway Corinthians), Conan O’Donnell  (Sligo), Samuel  Holland (Ballinasloe), Peter Claffey (Ballinasloe), Connall O’Brien (Buccaneers), Joseph Conway (Sligo) Mathew Cosgrove (Capt. Sligo)

Replacements: Joe Bennett (Sligo),  Conor Kenny (Buccaneers),  Dylan Connolly  (Ballinasloe), Aaron Wooton (Castlebar), Eoghan Maher (Monivea), Darragh Cummins (Sligo), Dean McMahon (Monivea), Jack Keegan (Sligo)

Munster: Joe White (Clonakilty RFC); Paul O’Keeffe (Kanturk RFC), Tim Cronin (Bantry Bay RFC), Mike Mullaly (Tralee RFC), Brian Fanning (Bruff RFC); Hugh O’Brien Cunningham (Young Munster RFC), Ryan Minihan (Young Munster RFC); Philip Poillot (Clonakilty RFC), Dylan Power (Waterpark RFC), Ben Betts (Young Munster RFC); Seán O’Leary (Capt.) (Midleton RFC), Josh Barnes (Tralee RFC); Karl Madden (Young Munster RFC), Robert Walsh (Waterpark RFC), David Pierce (Waterpark RFC).

Replacements: Philip Daly (Abbeyfeale RFC), Paddy Butler (Highfield RFC), Luke Cantwell (Waterpark RFC), Michael Casey (Bantry Bay RFC), Aaron Dunne (Thomond RFC), Isaac Mansfield Daly (Waterpark RFC), Robert Smith (Clonakilty RFC), James O’Connor (Tralee RFC).

Referee: Oisin Quinn


U18 and U19 matchday squads named for Interpro openers vs Ulster