Munster Youths (U18) 6        Connacht Youths (U18) 14             

Connacht Youths got their Inter provincial campaign off to a great start, with an away win last Sunday against Munster in Highfiled RFC. From the kick-off the visitors lead by No 8 Jack Codyre torn into their opponents with the front row of Conor Kyne, Pat O’Toole and Colin Joyce dominating the early exchanges.U18 Munster3 350 Munster with the aid of the elements settled and a monster kick out of defence was chased down by wingers Joe White and Eoin O’Carroll to present out half Fionn McGibney with a penalty opportunity which he converted to give Munster a 3-0 advantage.  Connacht kept to their game plan and kept Munster pined in their half with some great surges by flanker Kevin Hastings and second row Rory Murphy. However against the run of play Munster forwards Darragh Power and Idris Rqibi set up another penalty opportunity which was converted to stretch Munster’s lead to 6-0.  The Connacht backs began to take advantage of their forward’s dominance and good approach work by half backs Jason Mitchell and Michael Green gave the platform for an initial surge by Evan Galvin to set up Craig Hansberry to crash over under the posts and give Connacht a 7-6 interval lead.

U18 Munster2 350In the second half Connacht continued to dominate with centres Finn Stoneman and Conor Lowndes punching holes in the Munster defence,  but line breaks by winger Harry Hughes and full back Cathal Evans failed to extend the visitors lead. Just as Munster looked to have weathered the storm, winger Paddy Glavey cut through their defence and with one man to beat elected to chip and chase to score under the posts. The try was converted to give Connacht some breathing space, on a score- line of 14-6. Despite applying a lot more pressure Connacht failed to add to their score, as a combination of wrong options and poor handling denied them.  With time running out Munster started to exert more dominance with forwards Brendan Quinlan, Conor O’Sullivan and Ben Betts prominent, but good defensive work by the visitors kept their try line intact much to the satisfaction of the their coaches Eamonn Molloy, Cory Brown and Ambrose Conboy.

Next up for Connacht is a trip to Naas RFC where they will take on Leinster on Sat 29/Sept with a 1:30 KO.

Munster XV: Dylan Horgan (Highfield), Eoin O’Carroll (Tralee), Kieran Duggan (Highfield), Mark Dorgan (Highfield), Joe White (Clonakilty), Fionn McGibney (Garryowen), Ronan O’Lahhoran (Ennis), Brendan Quinlan (Clanwilliam), Eoghan Greene (Sunday’s Well), Ben Betts (Young Munster), Aaron Hogan (Youghal), Conor O’Sullivan (Kanturk), Darragh Power (Waterpark), Connell Dodd (Waterpark), Idris Rqibi (Captain), (Skibbereen). Replacements: Stephen Shine (Young Munster), Philip Poilot (Clonakilty), Peter Ryan (Nenagh Ormond RFC), Luke O’Leary (Sunday’s Well), Alex McAuliffe (Bruff), Gareth Molloy (Waterpark), Eathon Moloney (Nenagh Ormond), Cian Tierney (Bruff).

Connacht XV: Cathal Evans (Corinthians), Paddy Glavey (Westport), Conor Lowndes (Galwegians), Finn Stoneman (Galwegians), Harry Hughes (Buccneers), Michael Green (Creggs), Jason Mitchell (Galwegians), Conor Kyne (Galwegians), Pat O’Toole (Westport), Colin Joyce (Corinthians), Aaron Broderick (Corinthians), Rory Murphy (Ballinrobe), Evan Galvin (Buccaneers), Kevin Hastings (Westport), Jack Codyre (Ballinasloe). Replacements: Conon O’Donnell (Sligo) Craig Hansberry (Corinthians), Fintan Murphy (Castlebar), Fergal Tully (Ballina), Darragh Maher (Monivea), Sean Tobin (Westport), Sean Dempsey (Buccaneers), Sean Doyle (Buccaneers).


Energia All-Ireland League Round-Up: Buccaneers stay atop Division 1B, Sligo & Corinthians win